Connect with us

Super Late Models

Winchester 400 Boasts Stacked Entry List

There will be at least 30 entries for the 2020 Winchester 400

CRA Super Series

Stephen Nasse led 392 laps in the Winchester 400 last October, but the competition is poised to step up.

There are over 30 cars on the latest entry list for the 49th running of the prestigious Super Late Model race at Winchester Speedway in Indiana. That includes Bubba Pollard, set to make his first trip to The World’s Fastest Half-Mile since 2015, still looking for his first rifle trophy.

Still the reigning Snowball Derby winner until December, Travis Braden will look to challenge both in his pursuit of a second victory in the prestigious event.

Nasse and Braden are the only previous winners entered into the field, but the entry list does include previous winners of other races at the venerable Indiana short track, headlined by three-time World Stock Car Festival winner Jeff Fultz.

Dalton Armstrong won the 2017 World Stock Car Festival and is also seeking his first Winchester 400 triumph. Former Winchester Speedway winners from other divisions entered into the race include Brandon Oakley, Eddie Van Meter, Mason Keller, Colby Lane, Zachary Tinkle and Kyle Crump.

Fresh off winning the U.S. Short Track Nationals at similarly shaped Bristol Motor Speedway, Trevor Noles will make the trip to Indiana and is bringing team owner Donnie Wilson with him. Chandler Smith, suddenly a NASCAR regular, is in the team’s third entry.

Perhaps the most competitive driver in CRA Super Series competition in 2020, Carson Hocevar will take the same T.K. Racing No. 71 he took to Victory Lane in the Redbud 400 to Winchester in pursuit of another marquee event win.

Kyle Busch Motorsports will again be represented in 2020, this time with Sammy Smith.

The Winchester 400 will pay up to a maximum of $23,000. The purse will pay a minimum of $16,000 to the winner with second place paying $8,000 and $5,000 to third place. The race pays $1,250 to start. There is $6,000 in lap leader bonuses, $500 to the highest finishing rookie and $500 to the best finishing car using a Crate Engine.

For those unable to attend in person, a three-day PPV ticket can be purchased from Speed51 for $50. A Sunday only broadcast is available for $30.

The complete entry list can be found below.

  • 1 – Cody Coughlin
  • 2 – Donnie Wilson
  • 5 – Dalton Armstrong
  • 6 – Logan Runyon
  • 9 – Jake Hinton
  • 12 – Dan Leeck
  • 15 – Jeff Fultz
  • 16 – Cayden Lapcevich
  • 17 – Josh Brock
  • 20 – Jack Dossey, III
  • 22 – Brandon Oakley
  • 23 – Eddie Van Meter
  • 26 – Travis Braden
  • 26P – Bubba Pollard
  • 26S – Chandler Smith
  • 29 – Mason Keller
  • 33 – Albert Francis
  • 35 – Greg Van Alst
  • 35G – Jake Garcia
  • 41 – Hunter Jack
  • 44 – Colby Lane
  • 45 – Kodie Conner
  • 47 – Dakota Stroup
  • 51 – Sammy Smith
  • 51N – Stephen Nasse
  • 53 – Zachary Tinkle
  • 61 – Bob Varney
  • 62 – Jaren Crabtree
  • 71 – Carson Hocevar
  • 77 – Brandon Varney
  • 112 – Augie Grill
  • 131 – Kyle Crump

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models