Connect with us

Super Late Models

Oktoberfest 200 Boasts the ‘Best’ Entry List to Begin Big Race Season

The Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour headline a full weekend of racing at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

Midwest Tour

They say Fest is Best, and the 51st annual Oktoberfest 200 has certainly welcomed the best to the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway this weekend.

Specifically, a total of 20 drivers representing 60 championships are entered into the marquee ARCA Midwest Tour signature Super Late Model event over the weekend. All told, there are 38 teams on the entry list across event states at the 5/8-mile short track.

That entry list includes defending winner Ty Majeski, one of the most prominent national short track superstars, and an occasional NASCAR national touring series part-timer. The four-time Midwest Tour champion also won the Oktoberfest 200 main event in 2016.

NASCAR Truck Series regular Johnny Sauter most recently won the Joe Shear Classic 200 over Labor Day weekend at Dells Raceway Park. The 2016 Truck Series champion and 2001 ASA National champion won Oktoberfest in 2017 and is shooting for a second over the weekend.

Casey Johnson is the defending Midwest Tour champion and recently closed out on the TUNDRA Series championship last weekend. He is once again leading the MWT championship and could close out on Sunday.

Also taking advantage of the Truck Series off-weekend is Midwestern youngster Derek Kraus. The defending Futures Race winner, and the holder of over a dozen K&N East wins in three seasons, Kraus is still seeking his first marquee Super Late Model win this weekend.

Justin Mondeik has broke out in a big way in 2020 with 14 wins and championships at both State Park Speedway and Golden Sands Speedway with victories at Norway Speedway in TUNDRA competition. He also picked up his first Midwest Tour victory in July — the Detjens Memorial at State Park.

Rich Bickle will call it a career at the end of next season but the five-time Snowball Derby winner, four-time Slinger Nationals winner and two-time Rockford National Short Track Championship winner. He is the 1986 Oktoberfest winner.

The Futures Super Late Model feature will be the first feature contested for the Super Late Models on Thursday.

This class is open to any driver under the age of 30 that has not finished in the top three of ARCA Midwest Tour Points as well as those drivers over the age of 30 that have never run in a Sunday Oktoberfest Main Event or competed in NASCAR’s Top Three Series.

Friday night will again be highlighted by The Original Dick Trickle 99, featuring three 33 lap feature events for the Super Late Models as well as ‘The Stubby’ and C features. Often boasting one of the largest Super Late Model fields in the nation each season, this event remains a favorite amongst fans, teams, officials and drivers alike. The overall winner is determined by the lowest score in the three segments, a segment win garners a driver one point while a 10th-place segment finish is worth 10 points. With the first segment lined up straight up by qualifying and last chance finishes, the second segment is then the first segment finish inverted based on the draw plus ten. The final segment is inverted again based on the draw plus ten, but this time based on current Trickle 99 points.

The remainder of the race weekend will see the ARCA Midwest Tour front and center. The Tour will qualify and contest preliminary events on Saturday night with a Last Chance race slated for Sunday afternoon. The big 200 lap Championship feature will highlight Sunday’s racing slate, with twenty eight drivers scheduled to take the green flag.

The complete entry list can be found below.

For those unable to attend in person, a three-day PPV ticket can be purchased from Speed51 for $70. A Sunday only broadcast is available for $27.

  • Brad Tilton
  • Casey Johnson
  • Johnny Sauter
  • John DeAngelis, Jr
  • Paul Shafer, Jr
  • Chad Butz
  • Billy Mohn
  • Brent Kirchner
  • Derek Kraus
  • Andy Monday
  • Bobby Kendall
  • Nick Murgic
  • Andrew Brocker
  • Austin Nason
  • Dean LaPointe
  • Gabe Sommers
  • Michael Ostdiek
  • Levon VanDerGeest
  • Mark Lamoreaux
  • Nick Barstad
  • Brett Yackey
  • Mathew Henderson
  • Dan Fredrickson
  • Tim Springstroh
  • Andrew Morrissey
  • Justin Mondeik
  • Rich Bickle, Jr
  • Brock Heinrich
  • Jacob Goede
  • Dillon Hammond
  • Jason Weinkauf
  • Jonathan Eilen
  • Skylar Holzhausen
  • Ryan Farrell
  • Ty Majeski
  • Harley Jankowski
  • RJ Braun
  • Dalton Zehr

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models