Connect with us

Super Late Models

New Smyrna World Series features diverse Super Late Model entry list

The Super Late Model entry list portends a wide-open championship

Jeff Ames | STS

In the backdrop of Daytona Speedweeks, the first NASCAR championships of 2019 will be decided after seven races in nine nights at the World Series of Asphalt at New Smyrna Speedway.

The high speed half-mile is located just 15 miles south from Daytona International Speedway and has long been a popular venue for racing die-hards and for short trackers to test their skills in advance of The Great American Race.

The event showcases daily features for Super Late Models, Pro Late Models, Tour-Type Modifieds, Florida Modifieds and Pro Trucks. The ARCA East will also start their season at New Smyrna during the course of the World Series of Asphalt and the overall event runs from February 7-15.

READ MORE: Detailed World Series schedule

Five of the first six Super Late Model races at the track will be 35-laps in length and featured on the undercard for six of the first seven nights, all leading up to a 100-lapper on Saturday, February 15, which will serve as the main event of the night and the championship race for the division.

The Super Late race on Tuesday night is 50 laps in length.

Several of the top Super Late Model drivers in the country including Augie Grill, Brad May, Derek Griffith, Colin Garrett and Jake Garcia are expected to race for the championship. One driver not on the entry list is defending champion Bubba Pollard, who will be racing in the Tour Type Modified this year instead.

Pollard joined Dick Trickle, Mark Martin, Pete Hamilton and David Rogers as World Series titleholders.

And since Pollard is not racing in a Super Late this week, that means another year will go by without a repeat champion, something that hasn’t been done since Pete Orr from 1992-1994.

In fact, in recent years, the World Series championship has been decided by some combination of Pollard, Stephen Nasse, Harrison Burton and Ty Majeski. None of the four most recent champions are entered into the event as nightly regulars, even though some may appear in a one-off capacity.

It’s going to be a wide-open affair.

The 35-lap reaces pay $1500 to win each night. Any race, due to a rain out that is bumped up to 50 laps pays $2000 to win and the 100-lap main event pays $3000.

RELATED: Streaming wars come to short track racing with NBC OTT service

For the sixth year in a row, the complete World Series of Asphalt will also have an online stream, this time under the NBC Sports Gold TrackPass banner. The complete schedule of events for all divisions can be found here. The Super Late Model entry list can be found below.

  • 1 Todd Stone Middlebury VT
  • 7 Doug Elliott New Smyrna FL
  • 9 Brad May Oviedo FL
  • 11 David Rogers Orlando FL
  • 12 Derek Griffith Hudson NH
  • 12 Brad Kassow Union Grove WI
  • 13 Austin MacDonald Pictou NS
  • 20 Anthony Sergi Oviedo FL
  • 21 Jesse Love Redwood City WI
  • 24 Colin Garrett South Boston VA
  • 30 Joe Valento Scandia MN
  • 35 Jake Garcia Monroe GA
  • 39 Kyle Sieg Buford GA
  • 43 Daniel Dye Daytona FL
  • 44 Justin Mondeik Gleason WI
  • 50 Jett Noland Groveland FL
  • 51 Sammy Smith Johnston IA
  • 56 Gus Dean Bluffton SC
  • 74 Ryan Moore Mooresville NC
  • 01 Vincent Staggs Clermont FL
  • 112 Steve Weaver Jr. Plantation FL
  • 112 Augie Grill Dolomite AL
  • 148 Max Calles-McDonald Mission TX

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models