Connect with us

Pro Late Models

Carson Kvapil Claims CARS Pro Win in Last Minute Entry

Mother Nature altered plans for the Solid Rock Carriers CARS Tour in their first trip to Tri-County Motor Speedway in 2023.

With torrential rainfall moving into North Carolina on Saturday and staying until early next week, the CARS Tour moved the 100-lap feature for the Pro Late Model Tour to Friday alongside the inaugural GXS Street Stock Series event, all while the $30,000-to-win Old North State Nationals for Late Model Stocks was moved to Aug. 19.

A familiar name on the Late Model Stock Car Tour would be the one taking home the PLM Tour checkered flag in defending champion Carson Kvapil, all while Gary Ledbetter earned the distinction as the inaugural winner in GXS Street Stocks.

Different car, same song for Carson Kvapil

Carson Kvapil did not let the postponement of the Old North State Nationals keep him out of a car at Tri-County.

After quickly assembling his family-owned Pro Late Model that did not have an engine 24 hours earlier, Kvapil put together a performance that his competitors in the LMSC Tour have grown familiar with over the last year, fending off his younger brother Caden and Gio Ruggiero to take home the checkered flag on Friday evening.

“Half of this is from the past notes we have [at Tri-County] from my brother running here,” Kvapil said. “It gave us a good point to start from today since we didn’t test. Without all the guys, we wouldn’t have made it here. We showed up at the last minute and got ourselves a win.”

With his victory, Kvapil became the first driver in CARS Tour history to win a race in all three divisions that have existed.

Having already won titles in the LMSC Tour and the now defunct Super Late Model division, Kvapil did not have any doubts in his ability to claim a PLM Tour victory as long as he could get his car put together in time for Friday’s green flag.

Kvapil enlisted the help of his JR Motorsports crew to ensure his car had all the essentials for 100 laps of on-track action at Tri-County. He added the commitment of his crew members to assist with the Pro Late Model highlights the chemistry they have developed together and their desire to overcome any obstacle standing in front of them.

“This is pretty cool,” Kvapil said. “It all started with [crew chief] Brian Shaffer. He was trying to mess with me and I called his bluff. We started working on [the car] at 6 p.m. yesterday, swapped the motor and clutches, all the exhaust, put 150 lbs. of lead in it and mounted a seat. Just goes to show how good of car this is and how good the guys around me are.”

Gavan Boschele shines in first race with Rackley W.A.R.

There was a new face piloting the No. 25 for Rackley W.A.R.’s Pro Late Model program at Tri-County on Friday in the form of Gavan Boschele.

The Mooresville, North Carolina native showcased the efficiency of the Rackley W.A.R. equipment by methodically climbing his way from the seventh starting position to come home second in his debut race with the organization.

Boschele had only competed in four PLM Tour events prior to Friday night’s race at Tri-County. He tallied Two Top 10 finishes in 2022 for DLP Motorsports, including a then-career best performance of sixth at Pulaski County Motorsports Park before tallying a ninth at Hickory Motor Speedway earlier this year.

With the No. 25 having already visited victory lane in the PLM Tour this year with Connor Zilisch behind the wheel, speed favored Boschele on Friday. He worked his way around talented drivers like Cole Butcher, Gio Ruggiero and Caden Kvapil, but could not chase down the elder Kvapil for the win.

Boschele is expected to run several more races for Rackley W.A.R. this year, which will give him plenty of opportunities to build upon his stellar outing from Tri-County and add his name to the list of drivers who have won in the PLM Tour.

PLM results:

  1. 35 Carson Kvapil
  2. 25 Gavan Boschele
  3. 96 Caden Kvapil
  4. 53 Cole Butcher
  5. 24 Gio Ruggiero
  6. 81 Katie Hettinger
  7. 7 Tristan McKee
  8. 26 Dawson Sutton
  9. 77 Logan Jones
  10. 13 Austin MacDonald
  11. 28 William Sawalich
  12. 15 Brett Suggs
  13. 27 Lee Tissot
  14. 75 Mamba Smith -1
  15. 03 Kyle Campbell -1
  16. 5 Zac Fowler -1
  17. 9 Ashton Higgins -2
  18. 8 Rusty Skewes – OUT
  19. 49M Luke Morey – OUT
  20. 6 George Phillips – OUT
  21. 2 Hudson Canipe – OUT

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected].

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in Pro Late Models