Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ty Majeski Fastest in Rattler 250 Practice

Already considered one of the favorites entering the Rattler 250 race weekend, Ty Majeski fired the first shot on Friday afternoon setting fast time in practice for the Super Late Models at South Alabama Speedway.

Despite an ominous forecast, Southern Super Series teams were able to complete all four sessions as the rain held off. Majeski posted the best lap at 15.146 seconds but was closely followed by the rest of the field — all 36 Super Late Models separated by six-tenths of a second.

His fast lap was set during the third session and Majeski only turned a handful of laps in the fourth session before loading up for the night, satisfied with the balance of feel of his No. 91.

“The big thing for us today was just finding a good feel in the corners,” Majeski told Short Track Scene on Friday night. “We don’t spend a lot of time looking at the charts because we just want to get the handling right. But we did make one mock run on a new set and that’s when we set the fast time.

“But we didn’t see too many guys not do the same thing so it gave us a lot of confidence. We mostly focused on race trim and I feel really good about it.”

Stephen Nasse, Christian Eckes, Dalton Sargeant and Kyle Grissom completed the top-5 in practice. Defending winner Christopher Bell was 10th on the charts while his Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate William Byron was closely followed in 12th.

The other multi-car team, LFR Development, also fare well with Kaz Grala and Quinn Houff posting the sixth and ninth fastest times respectively.

Friday was largely procedural with no one wanting to show their hands. Weather permitting, qualifying for the Rattler 250 is set for Saturday at 3 p.m. CT. The proceedings, like the rest of the event weekend, is available to be watched on a Pay-Per-View basis on

The race itself is scheduled to go green at 2 p.m. CT on Sunday afternoon.

The complete results of practice can be viewed below.

  1. Ty Majeski    15.146
  2. Stephen Nasse    15.163
  3. Christian Eckes    15.216
  4. Dalton Sargeant    15.219
  5. Kyle   Grissom     15.225
  6. Kaz Grala    15.261
  7. Kyle Plott    15.271
  8. Donnie Wilson     15.274
  9. Quinn   Houff     15.298
  10. Christopher Bell    15.300
  11. Harrison Burton    15.313
  12. William Byron    15.321
  13. Casy Smith    15.346
  14. Chris Davidson    15.356
  15. Logan Boyett    15.357
  16. Cole Anderson    15.366
  17. Zane Smith    15.386
  18. Derek Scott Jr    15.415
  19. Cody Coughlin    15.415
  20. Derek Kraus    15.416
  21. Travis Sauter    15.418
  22. Michael Atwell    15.434
  23. Korey   Ruble     15.458
  24. Kenzie Ruston    15.507
  25. Brandon Odom    15.538
  26. Garrett Jones     15.541
  27. Augie   Grill     15.542
  28. Brett Holmes    15.549
  29. Allen   Karnes     15.577
  30. Bubba Pollard     15.584
  31. Johnny   Brazier     15.596
  32. Steve Dorer    15.621
  33. Dennis Reno Jr    15.770

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models