Connect with us

Super Late Models

Marquee Names Enter Florida Governor’s Cup

Nigel Cook | Daytona News Journal

$15,000 is on the line this weekend in the prestigious Florida Governor’s Cup at New Smyrna Speedway.

In response, several Super Late Model big hitters are making the trip to Volusia County in the backdrop of Daytona International Speedway.

Chief amongst them is three-time winner Ty Majeski and his Toby Nuttleman led No. 91 from Wisconsin, who together captured three in a row from 2015-2017. Joining him on the entry list is Bubba Pollard and Stephen Nasse, two of the most prestigious names in the discipline, who also battled each other for a win three weeks ago at 5 Flags Speedway in Pensacola.

READ MORE: Is there a National Super Late Model Tour in the Works?

Multiple time New Smyrna Speedway track champion Brad May leads a local contingent that also includes Anthony Sergi, Daniel Keene, Daniel Dye and Jett Noland.

Previous winners of the 55th annual event include legendary names like Robert Hamke, Gary Balough, Jimmy Cope, Butch Miller, Bobby Gill, Pete Orr, Jeff Choquette, Augie Grill and David Rogers — the latter who is now the track’s Super Late Model namesake.

The race is an (8) tire showdown, but only (2) can be changed or moved per caution period. The race will use a 2 lap non-counting, controlled caution format.

The Late Model races will air live on NBC Trackpass.


Super Late Models

  • 4 Travis Wilson
  • 5 Daniel Keene Jr
  • 7 Doug Elliott
  • 9 Brad May
  • 20 Anthony Sergi
  • 21 Kris Wright
  • 26 Bubba Pollard
  • 30 Jessie Dutilly
  • 39 Kyle Sieg
  • 43 Daniel Dye
  • 51 Michael Atwell
  • 51 Stephen Nasse
  • 71 Dawson Fletcher
  • 81 Jett Noland
  • 91 Ty Majeski
  • 03 George Gorham Jr.


  • 5 Daniel Keene Jr
  • 5 Juan Gonzalez
  • 7 Andrik Dimayuga
  • 9 Brad May
  • 10 Joe Hamilton
  • 15 Ryan Luza
  • 28 Cody Hall
  • 51 Hayden Sprague
  • 77 Charlie Ayers
  • 77 Colt Hensley
  • 81 Jett Noland


Friday, November 13 (Optional Open Practice)
10:30 Pit Ticket Booth Opens
11:00 Pit Gates/Tech/Fuel/Registration Opens
3:00 – 8:00 Open Practice (All Divisions)

Saturday, November 14
10:00 Pits Open
12:15 Drivers Meeting
1:00 – 2:00 Super Late Model Practice
2:05 – 2:35 Modified Practice
2:40 – 3:10 Pro Late Model Practice
3:15 – 3:35 Modified Practice
3:40 – 4:10 Pro Late Model Practice
4:00 Modified Pre-Qualifying Tech
4:15 – 4:45 Super Late Model Practice
4:30 Pro Late Model Tires Released
4:50 – 5:20 Pro Trucks Practice/Group Qualifying
5:00 Pro Late Model Pre-Qualifying Tech
5:25 – 5:40 Super Stock Practice/Group Qualifying
5:45 – 6:00 Bomber Practice/Group Qualifying
6:00 – 6:15 Ground Pounders Practice/Group
6:15 Modified Qualifying
6:45 Pro Late Model Qualifying
7:15 Opening Ceremonies
7:30 Feature Racing Begins
Super Stock 25
Modified 50
Florida Super Trucks 50
Pro Late Model 50
Bomber 20
Ground Pounders 20

Sunday, November 15
9:00 Gates Open
9:45 Drivers Meeting
10:30 – 11:00 Super Late Model Practice
11:00 Super Late Model Qualifying Tires
11:05 – 11:35 Sportsman Practice
11:30 Super Late Model Pre-Qualifying Tech
11:45 – 12:00 Mod Mini Practice/Group Qualifying
12:30 Sportsman Qualifying
1:00 Super Late Model Qualifying
1:45 Opening Ceremonies
2:00 Feature Racing Begins
Sportsman 50
Line Up Governor’s Cup Cars on
Governor’s Cup Driver Intros
55th Annual Governor’s Cup 200

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models