Connect with us


Cup Stars Join ASA Roster at Hickory as Loyalty Program Bonus Begins

The top-20 in points get bonus cash starting with this event

Continuing the theme of the month, NASCAR Cup Series drivers Chase Elliott and William Byron are set to compete alongside the Stars and Cars of the ASA national Super Late Model tour but this time at Hickory Motor Speedway.

They will race alongside championship contenders Casey Roderick, Ty Majeski, Bubba Pollard and Cole Butcher who are themselves, only separated by 50 points after the first three races of the season at Pensacola, Madison and North Wilkesboro.

All told, there are 28 drivers on the entry list.

Byron was a late addition to the field, making just his second start for Anthony Campi Racing following a successful first venture together, where they finished second to Pollard in a dramatic battle through lapped traffic at North Wilkesboro. Elliott, of course, will be driving for Stevie Garcia in the car crew chief’ed by Ricky Turner, who has generally managed all of the short track exploits for the 2020 Cup Series champion over the years.

Caden Kvapil is back in the GoFas No. 32 he drove at the Snowball Derby, and who he is splitting this season with Truck Series contender Grant Enfinger, the car chasing owner points in the tour.

Stephen Nasse has entered each national event, even after failing to qualify for the race at Madison, and is entered into Hickory and looking to turn his fortunes around.

The entry list also contains series or discipline regulars in Derek Kraus, Jake Finch, Jackson Boone, Billy VanMeter and Gio Ruggiero.

STARS National Tour Tar Heel 250 Entry List

08 – Tony Elrod
2 – Michael Bilderback
2 – William Sawalich
7 – Jackson Boone
9 – Chase Elliott
9 – Derek Kraus
14 – Carson Hocevar
14 – Austin Nason
18 – Casey Roderick
20 – Jesse Love
22 – Gio Ruggiero
23 – Billy VanMeter
24 – William Byron
26 – Bubba Pollard
28 – Cole Butcher
32 – Caden Kvapil
33 – Dustin Smith
45 – Kodie Conner
47 – Dakota Stroup
50 – Jett Noland
51 – Jake Finch
51 – Stephen Nasse
54 – Matthew Craig
65 – Tyler Tanner
69 – Michael Hinde
90 – Ross Strmiska
91 – Ty Majeski
98 – Blaine Rocha


Starting this week at Hickory, teams in the top-20 of the owner championship standings are eligible for bonus money per event under the winner’s circle program, which will pay $700 to the top-10 in points and $200 per race for the cars 11th through 20th in eligible points.

The terms of the program are as follows:

Through the first three events, 17 car owners have fielded cars at all races. An additional 12 teams have run two of the three races so far, and will forfeit eligibility if they miss another race. Other eligibility requirements include membership, filing race entries in a timely fashion, and remaining in good standing with the ASA STARS National Tour.

Eligibility for both the “A” and “B” plans per-event bonus is contingent upon the following:

  • Car owner must be fully licensed with the ASA STARS National Tour, and maintain membership in good standing.
  • Car owner must be the legally registered entity on each event entry blank, as the designated car owner and “payee” prior to the early entry deadline
  • Car owner must present the same car number at all ASA STARS National Tour events.
  • Car owner MUST compete in 90% of the ASA STARS National Tour events. Anything less than 90% attendance will result in removal from the bonus program.
  • The top ten eligible teams in car owner points teams will receive the $700 per-race bonus. Should a top ten points team in the program miss more than one race, the next highest car owner in points will move into the Winners Circle “A” program.
  • The next ten eligible teams in car owner points will receive the $200 per-race bonus. Should a team in the program miss more than one race, the next highest car owner in points will move into the Winners Circle “B” program.
  • Teams running 90% of the events in 2023 will be seeded according to final owner points into the 2024 Winners Circle program.



Anthony Campi Racing 18 | 213 (Casey Roderick)
Gearheadz Motorsports | 197 (Ty Majeski)
Pollard Motorsports | 191 (Bubba Pollard)
Wilson Motorsports | 163 (Cole Butcher)
Paul Shafer Motorsports | 136 (Derek Thorn, Paul Shafer Jr)
Wilson Motorsports | 130 (Gio Ruggiero)
JCR3 Racing | 125 (Matt Craig)
Nason Motorsports | 124 (Austin Nason)
Gabe Sommers Racing | 115 (Gabe Sommers)
Francis Engineering | 114 (Albert Francis Jr)


Derek Kraus Racing | 106 (Derek Kraus)
Jett Noland Motorsports | 105 (Jett Noland)
Mike Hinde Racing | 102 (Michael Hinde, Dan Fredrickson)
Scott’s Racing | 100 (Carson Hocevar)
Bob Lyon Racing | 100 (Jeremy Doss)
GoFas Racing 93 | (Grant Enfinger, Jonathan Eilen, Carson Kvapil)
Gomes Motorsports | 83 (Jacob Gomes)
Dan Fredrickson Racing | 82 (Dan Fredrickson/Byran Syer-Keske)
Phoenix Racing | 77 (Jake Finch)


Casey Roderick
Ty Majeski -16
Bubba Pollard -22
Cole Butcher -50
Gio Ruggiero -91
Matthew Craig -83
Austin Nason -89
Gabe Sommers -98
Albert Francis -99
Derek Kraus -107


Thursday night’s race at Hickory, like every event the rest of the season, will air live on Racing America and, with a tape delayed broadcast over a week later on MAVTV.

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *