Connect with us

NASCAR Pinty's Series

LP Dumolin wins wild NASCAR Pinty’s opener at Mosport

 It was 40 races since L.P Dumoulin had been to Victory Lane. And it only took one lap Sunday for him to end that streak.

Dumoulin inherited the lead after last lap contact between Andrew Rangers and Kevin Lacroix, and he drove his No. 47 WeatherTech Canada/ Bellemare Dodge to the win in the Clarington 200 at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

For the 39-year-old driver from Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, it was his fifth career NASCAR Pinty’s Series win and third at CTMP. The win also marked Dumoulin’s first win since Trois-Rivieres in 2014.

“My guys worked so hard over the winter months replacing clips and parts on our cars to make them the best they can be and I was so happy to be able to get the win for them and celebrate and give them a reward for all of their hard work over the winter and also last year, said Dumoulin. “I have a very dedicated group that work on our cars and this means a lot to be able to give them and all of our fans a win. Hopefully this is just the first of several this season.”

Dumoulin was in perfect position when the contact on the white-flag lap between Andrew Ranger and Kevin Lacroix in Turn 5 opened the door. The incident knocked Lacroix from the lead and resulted in a penalty on Ranger for his actions.

Marc-Antoine Camirand finished in the runner-up position, while NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Noah Gragson come home third. Gragson, a NASCAR Next graduate who finished eighth in the truck race at Charlotte Motor Speedway Friday, became the third American to sit on the podium in a Pinty’s Series event.

D.J. Kennington finished fourth, while defending race winner Kevin Lacroix brought it home in fifth after beg turned.

Cole Powell was sixth, followed by Kerry Micks, James Vance, Brett Taylor, and Adam Martin.

Andrew Ranger was initially crossed the finish line in second, but was given a time penalty for his involvement in Lacroix’s spin from NASCAR and was re-classifed in the 12th position.

The NASCAR Pinty’s Series will be back in action on Saturday, June 16 for the Rankin Construction 200 at the Jukasa Motor Speedway in Hagersville, Ontario.

The complete results can be found below.

  1. L.P. Dumoulin
  2. Marc-Antoine Camirand
  3. Noah Gragson
  4. D.J. Kennington
  5. Kevin Lacroix
  6. Cole Powell
  7. Kerry Micks
  8. James Vance *
  9. Brett Taylor *
  10. Adam Martin
  11. Peter Klutt
  12. Andrew Ranger
  13. Donald Theetge
  14. Alex Tagliani
  15. Jason White
  16. Dave Thorndyke
  17. Larry Jackson
  18. Anthony Simone
  19. Gary Klutt
  20. Jocelyn Fecteau
  21. Raymond Guay *
  22. J.F. Dumoulin

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Pinty's Series