Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Doug Coby dominates for third NWMT win of season at Seekonk

Three wins in six races for five-time

Doug Coby seems to be back in prime form.

The five-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion returned to Victory Lane for the third time in the first six races of the season on Saturday at Seekonk Speedway. Coby started from the pole, and although he was passed early by Matt Hirschman, the Milford, Connecticut, driver wasn’t going to be denied.

He dominated the Seekonk 150, scoring his 27th career Whelen Modified Tour win and second at the Massachusetts third-mile.

“I think obviously we are establishing ourselves as a really dominant car at all different size tracks,” Coby said. “We have been on our game and picked up our game everywhere (compared to last year). It’s a long season, and we just need to make sure we keep learning if we are going to be the ones to keep winning races.”

Coby’s dominance was clear throughout the entire day. Although he was fourth in practice, Coby showed the speed under the hood of the No. 2 Mayhew Tools Chevrolet in qualifying, scoring his third Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award of the season.

Once the green flag dropped, it was Coby’s race to lose. After he passed Hirschman for the lead on lap 15, the veteran never looked back. Coby now has four top five finishes in six starts at Seekonk.

“I want to start on the front row here anytime I can,” Coby said. “You can just get out front and if you made the right adjustments like we did, and you can get out front, you can ride around out front and wait for every caution. I was running three 50 lap races in my head. At the end of each 50, I was just trying to get the end of the next 50.”

Defending series champion Justin Bonsignore started eighth, but made moves through the front of the field and finished second. After winning the Seekonk 150 last year, Bonsignore found himself chasing Coby in the final laps, but couldn’t quite get the run he needed to get back to Victory Lane.

Craig Lutz was third, scoring his second podium finish of the season. Ron Silk continued his early success with a fourth-place finish, while Timmy Solomito scored his first top five since Riverhead Raceway last September, in fifth.

Chris Pasteryak was sixth, followed by Anthony Nocella, Matt Swanson, Patrick Emerling and Andrew Krause.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for the Thompson 125 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park on Wednesday.

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Justin Bonsignore
  3. Craig Lutz
  4. Ron Silk
  5. Timmy Solomito
  6. Chris Pasteryak
  7. Anthony Nocella
  8. Matt Swanson
  9. Patrick Emerling
  10. Andrew Krause
  11. Woody Pitkat
  12. Matt Hirschman
  13. Max Zachem
  14. Tommy Catalano
  15. Blake Barney
  16. JB Fortin *
  17. Chase Dowling
  18. Sam Rameau *
  19. Jimmy Blewett
  20. Gary Putnam
  21. Timmy Catalano *
  22. Calvin Carroll
  23. Wade Cole
  24. Ken Heagy
  25. Eric Goodale
  26. Jeff Rocco *
  27. Melissa Fifield
  28. Rob Summers

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour