Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Philip Morris wins No. 2 at South Boston

Caleb Whisler | STS

Who else would be the first driver to reach two victories at Philip Morris Victory Lane at South Boston Speedway than the location’s namesake?

Philip Morris won for the second time in as many weeks to open the South Boston Late Model Stock season, winning the first half of a twin 75-lap feature on Saturday afternoon wedged between the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at America’s Home Town Track.

The five-time NASCAR All-American Series champion started on the pole but lost out on the restart to Terry Crews. Morris decided to ride behind Crews and opted to make his move on Lap 25 and led the remaining 50 laps.  

Crews had one shot at Morris, following a Lap 35 competition caution, but could only get to the back bumper of the King of the Late Model Stocks and could not supplant him off the bottom.

“It was really free and early on I thought I would be holding on, but 30 laps or so into the race, everyone else was free and I was faster than they are so ‘what the heck,’ I guess I’m not as bad as they are.”

Upon taking the lead, it was just a matter of managing the race.

“I still had to work to stay in front of Terry. He should have finished second. Every time I drove in deep to get away the back end would meet me there. I was just trying to hold my own there at the end.”

The NASCAR Modified Tour rubber presented challenges for the entire field, thus the free conditions that Morris mentioned.

Peyton Sellers got by Crews over the final five laps and was satisfied with another bout of consistency. That’s three podiums in as many races.

“Everyone has their hands full,” Sellers said. “This Modified Tour rubber is really affecting how we drive into the corner. That’s what happened to (Lee Pulliam) and me and Trey. There was no side bite getting in. Philip found more but it’s going to be a handful after this Modified Tour race.

The complete results can be found below.

  1. #01 Philip Morris
  2. #9 Trey Crews
  3. #5 Lee Pulliam
  4. #87 Mike Looney
  5. #26 Peyton Sellers
  6. #28 Jason Barnes
  7. #29 Stuart Crews
  8. #8 Thomas Scott
  9. #17T Taylor Gray
  10. #12 Austin Thaxton
  11. #97 Daniel Silvestri
  12. #39 Mike Jones
  13. #54 Drew Butler
  14. #50 Raymond Pittman
  15. #73 Bruce Anderson
  16. #14 Dusty Ellington
  17. #38 Mark Keesee
  18. #22 Jordon Pickrel

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Late Model Stock Cars