Connect with us


Five-time wins his sixth NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour pole of 2019


Doug Coby is two-for-two on Friday at Stafford Motor Speedway.

He posted the fastest time in the only practice session of the day and followed it up with earning his sixth pole of the season in qualifying for the Stafford 150. Coby posted a fast lap of 18.382 seconds (97.922 mph) around the half-mile, adding another pole to his historic record at Stafford. He’s also won two NASCAR Whelen All-American Series championships at the track.

Justin Bonsignore, who is seeking his first Stafford win, qualified second. His lap of 18.412 seconds (97.762 mph) will put him on the front row for his third consecutive race at the Connecticut oval. Off his first career pole at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Jon McKennedy qualified third.

Chris Pasteryak and Patrick Emerling rounded out the top-five.

Ron Silk qualified sixth, followed by Chase Dowling, Bobby Santos III, Matt Swanson and Rob Summers.

Coby also advocated NASCAR starting Amy Catalano and Andrew Melleur, whom failed to qualify on time trials. And it wasn’t like the two cars weren’t fast enough on speed, but were instead turned away in favor of those with provisionals.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for the Stafford 150 at 9:15 p.m. The race will air via a live stream on FansChoice.TV.

The complete qualifying results can be found below. Catalano and Molleur are in bold as they are the two DNQs.

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Justin Bonsignore -0.03
  3. Jon McKennedy -0.068
  4. Chris Pasteryal -0.082
  5. Patrick Emerling -0.113
  6. Ron Silk -0.114
  7. Chase Dowling -0.124
  8. Bobby Santos III -0.175
  9. Matt Swanson -0.179
  10. Rob Summers -0.201
  11. Jimmy Blewett -0.243
  12. Joey Cipriano -0.249
  13. Timmy Solomito -0.261
  14. Craig Lutz -0.292
  15. Tommy Catalano -0.314
  16. Sam Rameua -0.329
  17. Kyle Bonsignore -0.345
  18. Joey Mooch -0.352
  19. Eric Goodale -0.354
  20. George Brunnhoetzl -0.381
  21. Timmy Catalano -0.382
  22. Woody Pitkat -0.405
  23. Blake Barney -0.427
  24. Calvin Carroll -0.435
  25. JB Fortin -0.480
  26. Amy Catalano -0.507
  27. Gary Putnam -0.544
  28. Mike Rutkowski -0.625
  29. Kyle Ellwood -0.629
  30. Mark Bakaj -0.686
  31. Andrew Molleur -0.727
  32. Wade Cole -1.014
  33. Melissa Fifield -1.615

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Uncategorized