Connect with us


Massive entry lists for the 58th World Series of Asphalt

The World Series of Asphalt at New Smyrna Speedway features 215 entries filed across the 12 divisions this Speedweeks.

And that doesn’t include the 35 car NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour opener on Saturday or the 43 car ASA STARS Tour season opener on Tuesday. It’s a stacked week for fans of pavement short track racing of every variety.


For the Super Late Models, there are at least 30 expected to race in some capacity, and some who may make surprise appearances. Already a two-time World Series of Asphalt champion, Derek Griffin has once again made the annual pilgrimage for another time since 2017.

Donnie Wilson Motorsports has prepared cars for Southern Super Series champion Gio Ruggiero, ASA runner-up Cole Butcher and rising prospect Brent Crews. Kevin Harvick Inc. has filed an entry for William Sawalich.

Derek Kraus is back after making the trip every year from 2015 to 2019. Bubba Pollard was testing in advance of the ASA race and seems poised to at least race through Tuesday.


Expected to contend for wins is perennial Deep South contenders Hunter Wright, who is also in a Super this week, and John Bolen. The division is also bringing the female star power in Toni Breidinger, Katie Hettinger and Isabella Robusto. Hettinger made history last year when she become the first female race winner in division history in the World Series. This will also be the first race back for Robusto after her concussion last summer at a CARS Tour race at Hickory.


The Tour Mods have 35 cars on the entry list, and just 18 of them are entered into the NASCAR Tour race on Saturday, with two of them in Patrick Emerling and Ronnie Williams, driving different cars on Saturday.

In other words, 20 of those cars are different from the NASCAR race, meaning there will be 55 total cars in some capacity on the grounds over the next week.

Matt Hirschman is always the man to beat in this division, having swept all four races here last year, and he won the pole for the fifth that was ultimately rained out. His PeeDee Motorsports team are the ones to beat until someone beats them regularly.

Ryan Preece was that guy before he became a NASCAR regular and Preece is back this week but will miss two nights for Daytona 500 qualifying and duels but will be a threat to win races each night that he is in attendance.

NASCAR Modified Tour champion Ron Silk began his season last year with a full World Series of Asphalt slate and is anticipating doing the same thing this year.

The World Series of Asphalt begins on Friday night with Super Late Models and Pro Late Models. Saturday will feature the Whelen Modified Tour and Pro Late Models. Sunday features Supers and Pros. Monday features Supers, Pros and Tour Types.

Tuesday is the ASA national tour race.

Wednesday through Sunday will all feature a mix of every division with marquee races including the John Blewett III Memorial 76 and Richie Evans 100 for Tour Types and the championship deciding Orange Blossom 100 on Saturday for the Super Late Models.

Racing starts every night at 7:30 and the full week will air on FloRacing.


Super Late Models

0 Ryan Walters
7 Mitch Haver
9k Derek Kraus
9 Brad May
11 David Weaver
12g Derek Griffith
14 Austin Nason
15 Gabe Sommers
17 Danny Knoll Jr.
20 Kris Wright
22 Giovanni Ruggiero
23f Dave Farrington Jr.
23 Billy VanMeter
24 Brent Crews
26 Dawson Sutton
27k Cody Krucker
27 Bobby Good
28 Cole Butcher
29 Hunter Wright
36 Ty Fredrickson
44 Conner Jones
50 Jett Noland
54 Tommy Catalano
57 Gus Dean
62 William Sawalich
76 James Lynch
80 Donald Theetge
05 Brandon Turbush
08 Nicholas Naugle
112 Steve Weaver

Pro Late Models

0 Glenn Styres
1 Toni Breidinger
2 John Bolen
8 Chad Butz
15 Brody Monahan
15r Christian Rose
17b Hudson Bulger
17f Kevin Folan
17 Chuck Tuck
18a Jared Allison
18 Mike Scorzelli
22 Ryan Phipps
24 Dalton Smith
25 Anthony Bello
26 Dawson Sutton
26m Wendall Mobley
28 Isabella Robusto
29 Hunter Wright
31b Kody Brusso
31 Billy Braun
32 Nick Jenkins
33 Tim Laurent
43 Ray Minieri
45 Mike Mayberry
47 Dustin Bryson
54 Diogo Moscato
55 George Phillips
61 Kevin Macy
71 Katie Hettinger
88 Max Reeves
93 Thomas Karson
94 Cory Luciano
00 Jimmy Renfrew
08 Nicholas Naugle

Tour Type Modifieds

2 JR Bertuccio
2B Joe Bertuccio III
4 Tim Connolly
7 Rich Parker
8 Cam McDermott
9 Tom Martino Jr.
11 Norman Newman
12 Brian Sones
14nc Bobby Measmer
14 Patrick Emerling
16 Ron Silk
20 Eddie McCarthy
20nj Ryan Maher
24 Andrew Krause
25 Brian Robie
27 Adam Lacicero
36 Dave Sapienza
40 Ryan Preece
42 Spencer Davis
46 Craig Lutz
50 Ronnie Williams
54 Tommy Catalano
55 Teddy Hodgdon
56 Amy Catalano
56 Trevor Catalano
58 Eric Goodale
60 Matt Hirschman
64 Tyler Catalano
73 Bobby Geiger
92 Anthony Nocella
98 Landon Huffman
02 Joey Coulter
07 Patrick Emerling
09 Christopher Hatton
158 Timmy Solomito
179 Anthony Bello

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Frank Lackey

    February 10, 2024 at 10:13 am

    Go Landon Huffman!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in Uncategorized