Connect with us

NASCAR Pinty's Series

Jason Hathaway Crowned Pinty’s Fan Cave Champion at Jukasa

Jason Hathaway and DJ Kennington won the races at Canada’s Crown Jewel Short Track

Jason Hathaway took care of business, and DJ Kennington returned to Victory Lane.

Hathaway won the Motomaster 125 Saturday at Ontario’s Jukasa Motor Speedway, and finished third in the Pinty’s 125 to claim the Pinty’s FanCave Challenge championship.

The special six races at three tracks over three weekends replaced the 2020 NASCAR Pinty’s Series championship season.

The 43-year-old from St. Thomas, Ontario, a series veteran who had 11 previous wins before 2020, dominated the new format. Hathaway had three wins and five podium finishes. The only race he finished outside the top three was the opener when he was involved in a last-lap wreck battling for the win.

For Kennington, the final race of the format proved sweet as the two-time series champion won his first race since the 2018 season finale at Jukasa.

Hathaway started fifth in Saturday’s opener, the Motomaster 125, and battled for the lead multiple times with Kennington, Donald Theetge and Kevin Lacroix. But once the No. 3 Kubota/Choko/Kugel Bearings/Total Chevrolet retook control on lap 79, no one could catch him.

He finished 6.129 seconds in front of runner-up LaCroix.

LP Dumoulin matched his best finish at Jukasa of third, followed by Kennington and JR Fitzpatrick. Larry Jackson, Brett Taylor, Donald Theetge, Anthony Simone and Dexter Stacey rounded out the top 10.

Kennington started on the pole position for the Pinty’s 125. Lacroix, Hathaway and Kennington swapped the lead a total of 10 times between the three of them.

Kennington’s No. 17 Castrol Edge/Wilride/CIM Metals Dodge retook the lead on the lap 90 and finished 4.081 seconds ahead of Theetge.

Hathaway rounded out the podium, one spot better the Lacroix in fourth, to win the Pinty’s FanCave Challenge Champion by 14 points over Lacroix. Kennington finished third in the Challenge, four back of Lacroix.

Alex Tagliani was fifth in the Pinty’s 125, followed by Jason White, Jackson, Stacey, Dumoulin and Connor James.

Motomaster 125 Results

  1. Jason Hathaway
  2. Kevin Lacroix
  3. L.P. Dumoulin
  4. D.J. Kennington
  5. J.R. Fitzpatrick
  6. Larry Jackson
  7. Brett Taylor
  8. Donald Theetge
  9. Anthony Simone
  10. Dexter Stacey
  11. Connor James
  12. Jason White
  13. Mathieu Kingsbury
  14. Alex Tagliani
  15. Cole Powell
  16. Todd Cresswell


  1. D.J. Kennington
  2. Donald Theetge
  3. Jason Hathaway
  4. Kevin Lacroix
  5. Alex Tagliani
  6. Jason White
  7. Larry Jackson
  8. Dexter Stacey
  9. L.P. Dumoulin
  10. Connor James
  11. J.R. Fitzpatrick
  12. Cole Powell
  13. Anthony Simone
  14. Brett Taylor
  15. Todd Cresswell
  16. Mathieu Kingsbury


  1. Jason Hathaway
  2. Kevin Lacroix -14
  3. D.J. Kennington -18
  4. L.P. Dumoulin -34
  5. Donald Theetge -40
  6. Brett Taylor -43
  7. Larry Jackson -53
  8. Connor James -54
  9. Dexter Stacey -61
  10. Anthony Simone -100
  11. J.R. Fitzpatrick -114
  12. Alex Tagliani -118
  13. Jason White -127
  14. Mathieu Kingsbury -134
  15. Treyten Lapcevich -182
  16. Kenny Forth -195
  17. Cole Powell -204
  18. Todd Cresswell -208

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Pinty's Series