Connect with us

World Series of Asphalt

Patrick Emerling wins Thursday’s Tour Modified 35-lapper at New Smyrna

New Smyrna Speedway

Patrick Emerling was able to hold on for his first victory of the week in the Tour Modified 35-lap feature at New Smyrna Thursday night.

Late charges from Jimmy Blewett and Matt Hirschman on the race’s final restart with three laps to go made things interesting. But contact between Blewett and Hirschman gave Emerling enough room to run away with the win.

“That caution definitely made some things interesting,” Emerling said. “I liked it on the bottom there… Was able to get a good jump and it worked out. All three of our cars were running the same exact pace all race. Probably the most fun couple of laps I’ve had in a long time.”

Behind Emerling and Blewett was Hirschman in third, followed by Craig Lutz and Eric Goodale. Rounding out the top-10 were Dave Sapienza, John Blewett III Memorial 76 winner Anthony Nocella, Mike Willis, JR Bertuccio, and Tyler Rypkema.

Blewett sat on the pole and led the opening portion of the race. Kyle Ebersole was the first to challenge him for the lead and nearly cleared Blewett going into turn one on lap five. But Ebersole came up into the right front of Blewett, spinning himself into the wall.

“I have no idea why [Ebersole] was cleared so early,” Blewett said. “His spotter obviously cleared him too soon with me on the frontstretch.”

Emerling took the lead from Blewett on lap six and never relinquished it en route to his first victory of the week.

With his third-place finish, Hirschman took the championship lead from Anthony Nocella. He leads by six points. The next closest contender is Lutz in third at 28 points back.featured

The full results can be found below:

  1. Patrick Emerling
  2. Jimmy Blewett
  3. Matt Hirschman
  4. Craig Lutz
  5. Eric Goodale
  6. Dave Sapienza
  7. Anthony Nocella
  8. Mike Willis
  9. JR Bertuccio
  10. Tyler Rypkema
  11. Brett Meservey
  12. Jimmy Zacharias
  13. Jeremy Gerstner
  14. Anthony Sesely
  15. Eddie McCarthy
  16. Rich Parker
  17. Paul Townsond
  18. Tommy Catalano
  19. Adam LaCicero
  20. Jim Gavek
  21. Tyler Catalano
  22. Ray Fattaruso
  23. Kyle Ebersole
  24. Jeff Gallup

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2021. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in World Series of Asphalt