Connect with us

World Series of Asphalt

Matt Hirschman wins Richie Evans Memorial 100; locks up World Series title

Kyle Souza

After coming agonizingly close to victory four times this week, Matt Hirschman had the last laugh Friday night, winning the Richie Evans Memorial 100.

Coming in second was Tyler Rypkema, followed by Craig Lutz, Eric Goodale and Eddie McCarthy. Sixth was Brett Meservey, followed by Mike Willis, Jimmy Blewett, Anthony Sesely and JR Bertuccio.

“I wish they called them all Richie Evans races because I think it brings out the best in me,” Hirschman said. “It’s the end of the week, and we don’t have to race tomorrow, so it’s maybe a little different mindset.”

With the win, Hirschman scored enough points to once again lock up the Tour Modified title at the World Series of Asphalt. The only other serious contender, Anthony Nocella, had motor issues late in the going, all but handing the title to Hirschman.

“The cherry on top is the championship,” Hirschman said. “When you come down here and come to this racetrack six days in a row, and five straight nights… We were able to come in every day positive and try for a win that night, and we had all good finishes.”

Hirschman dominated the race from start to finish. He started on the pole and led the race’s opening 53 laps until a Sesely spin brought out the yellow flag. While Hirschman and most of the field pitted, Blewett and Jeff Gallup chose to stay out. Hirschman made quick work of both on the restart, taking the lead back with 39 laps to go. While Rypkema and Lutz kept things interesting, neither was able to seriously challenge Hirschman.

The full race results can be found below:

  1. Matt Hirschman
  2. Tyler Rypkema
  3. Craig Lutz
  4. Eric Goodale
  5. Eddie McCarthy
  6. Brett Meservey
  7. Mike Willis
  8. Jimmy Blewett
  9. Anthony Sesely
  10. JR Bertuccio
  11. Ricky Moxley
  12. Timmy Catalano
  13. Jeff Gallup
  14. Dave Sapienza
  15. Jim Gavek
  16. Anthony Nocella
  17. Patrick Emerling
  18. Rich Parker
  19. Tommy Catalano
  20. Adam LaCiciero

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2022. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in World Series of Asphalt