Connect with us

World Series of Asphalt

Matt Hirschman Takes Third Consecutive Richie Evans Memorial 100

‘Big Money’ also closed out on the World Series of Asphalt Championship.

Luis Torres | STS

Matt Hirschman entered the World Series as the driver to beat. He’ll leave New Smyrna as the driver to beat.

Hirschman made World Series history Friday night when he won the Richie Evans Memorial 100 for a record third straight year.

With the win, “Big Money” Matt easily locked up the Tour Modified points title for the third time in four years, closing the week with back-to-back victories.

“I started my career over 20 years ago… I never knew if I’d win one race,” Hirschman said. “To come down here to Florida, and win the biggest race here, named after Richie Evans, is quite a career.”

READ MORE: Griffith Takes Night 7 In World Series Of Asphalt


Behind Hirschman was Jon McKennedy in second. Rounding out the top-five were Anthony Nocella, Ryan Preece and Anthony Nocella. Sixth was Eddie McCarthy, followed by Ronnie Williams, Chuck Hossfeld, JR Bertuccio, and Dave Sapienza.

Craig Lutz started on the pole and led the first lap. Lutz dominated the event until he suffered a mechanical problem with less than 20 laps to go, giving Hirschman the lead. Despite having to fend off Preece on several restarts, it was Hirschman who held on for the win.

After a largely tumultuous week of racing and wrecking, the Richie Evans Memorial 100 was run relatively cleanly, with only four caution flags slowing the race. For the second straight night, there were no red flags that stopped the race.

The full results can be found below:

  1. Matt Hirschman
  2. Jon McKennedy
  3. Anthony Nocella
  4. Ryan Preece
  5. Eric Goodale
  6. Eddie McCarthy
  7. Ronnie Williams
  8. Chuck Hossfeld
  9. JR Bertuccio
  10. Dave Sapienza
  11. Zane Zeiner
  12. Jeremy Gerstner
  13. Tyler Rypkema
  14. Bobby Measmer Jr.
  15. Brian Robie
  16. Timmy Catalano
  17. Matt Galko
  18. Stephen Kopcik
  19. Chris Finocchario
  20. Tom Martino Jr
  21. Danny Knoll Jr.
  22. Craig Lutz
  23. Tommy Catalano
  24. Patrick Emerling
  25. Chris Jensen
  26. Jimmy Blewett
  27. Tyler Catalano
  28. Ron Silk
  29. Amy Catalano
  30. Andy Seuss
  31. Bobby Jones
  32. Paul Hartwig
  33. Jonathan Laureigh
  34. Jim Gavek

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:


Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2022. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in World Series of Asphalt