Connect with us


Todd Owen prevails in SK Modified 40-lapper at Stafford

Paul Lambert/STS

Todd Owen has gotten the Stafford summer stretch started off the right way with his second straight victory in the SK Modified 40-lapper after a phenomenal battle with Glen Reen and Ronnie Williams.

Owen did not take the lead until lap 34 in a mad scramble on several late race restarts, and fought Reen hard during a two-lap dash to the checkers.

Reen was second, followed by Williams, Stephen Kopcik, and Eric Berndt. Rounding out the top-10 were Mike Christopher Jr, Keith Rocco, Michael Gervais Jr, Matt Galko, and Joseph Cipriano III.

For Owen, the hot streak is all about things falling into place after several seasons of near-misses.

“We had good cars the last couple of years,” Owen said. “We had a lot of seconds and thirds, just couldn’t get the next spot. We’re just working hard. Team’s gelling, and car’s rolling.”

Perhaps it was last week’s win that gave Owen the confidence in making some of the dramatic maneuvers that got him to Victory Lane.

“When things are going your way, and things are rolling your way, you have a lot more confidence,” he said. “You maybe stick your car in a place where if you’re not confident and [the car’s] not underneath you, you don’t stick it.”

The race was marred by six yellow flags.

Stephen Kopcik started on pole, but Joseph Cipriano led the first lap. Kopcik took the lead back on the second lap, and pulled away from Cipriano on the opening green-flag run.

Kopcik and Cipriano continued to battle for the lead, and Kopcik once again prevailed. Williams quickly moved to second, and took the lead on lap 11. Kopcik got back in front two laps later. The two continued swapping the lead until David Arute spun on lap 24.

Another wreck involving Marcello Rufrano and Tony Membrino brought out the yellow with 16 to go, followed up by another David Arute spin just four laps later.

Seven more cars were involved in a massive pileup with less than 10 to go when Dan Wesson and Matt Vassar made contact, sending Vassar up in front of traffic in turn one.

Ed Spiers went around as the field came to the white flag to set up the green-white-checker restart.

Only 17 of the 26 cars entered finished on the lead lap.

The full results can be found below:

  1. Todd Owen
  2. Glen Reen
  3. Ronnie Williams
  4. Stephen Kopcik
  5. Eric Berndt
  6. Mike Christopher Jr.
  7. Keith Rocco
  8. Michael Gervais Jr.
  9. Matt Galko
  10. Joseph Cipriano III
  11. Cory DiMatteo
  12. Andrew Molleur
  13. Tyler Leary
  14. Ed Spiers
  15. Nick Salva
  16. Dan Wesson
  17. Tyler Hines
  18. David Burnham
  19. Thomas Bolles
  20. Troy Talman
  21. Matt Vassar
  22. Tony Membrino Jr.
  23. Max Zachem
  24. Joey Ternullo Jr.
  25. Marcello Rufrano
  26. David Arute

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patron and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2021. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds