Connect with us


Ronnie Williams wins Stafford SK title in tiebreaker over Todd Owen

Paul Lambert/STS

In a season of short track racing, there are so many position changes and back-and-forths between drivers.

It was a single position that decided the 2019 Stafford SK Modified championship, as Ronnie Williams prevailed over Todd Owen in a tiebreaker. Williams had five wins this season while Owen only had four.

Williams had to sweat this title out. Needing a fourth-place finish to lock up the championship, things weren’t going Williams’ way early on. After starting in the middle of the pack, Williams wasn’t getting to the front quickly.

Finally, with just three laps remaining in the season, Williams made the championship-winning pass underneath Michael Gervais Jr. to move into fourth and clinch the title.

“It wasn’t that easy,” Williams said. “We went back to at least 12th. Just couldn’t get the right restart at the beginning. Got some breaks at the end and came home with fourth place.”

Marcello Rufrano started on the pole and led the opening lap. Rufrano pulled away from the field on the opening green-flag run, which was slowed on lap 11 when Shawn Thibeault spun in turn two.

Rufrano again assumed the lead on the restart, but Owen took the lead on lap 13. Rocco quickly followed to second and began chasing Owen down.

Despite several restarts in the second half of the race, Rocco never seriously challenged Owen, who cruised on to a bittersweet fourth victory of 2019.

“All we could do coming into the weekend was come here and win and let the cards fall as they may,” Owen said. “We did what we had to do… I told myself I wouldn’t be disappointed. I am, but we had an awesome year.”

The full results can be found below:

  1. Todd Owen
  2. Stephen Kopcik
  3. Keith Rocco
  4. Ronnie Williams
  5. Michael Gervais Jr.
  6. Glen Reen
  7. Dan Avery
  8. Marcello Rufrano
  9. Tim Jordan
  10. Michael Christopher Jr.
  11. Cory DiMatteo
  12. Anthony Flannery
  13. Tony Membrino Jr.
  14. David Arute
  15. Chase Dowling
  16. Ed Spiers
  17. Michael Christopher
  18. Mikey Flynn
  19. Tyler Leary
  20. Tyler Hines
  21. Troy Talman
  22. Shawn Thibeault
  23. Joey Ternullo
  24. Joesph Cipriano III
  25. Andrew Molleur
  26. Matt Vassar
  27. Curt Brainard

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2021. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds