Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ty Majeski beats the field, clock to take Winter Showdown

The four-time Midest Tour champion survived a wild one in SoCal …

Racing Nuggets

Ty Majeski beat the field and then he beat the weather-soaked clock on Saturday afternoon to win $32,500 in the Winter Showdown at Kern County Raceway Park.

The No. 91 took the lead from Preston Peltier off a Lap 116 restart and never looked back as the Sun set in Bakersfield, California. Rain had plagued SoCal all weekend and the track was without electricity throughout the afternoon.

If power couldn’t be restored, the race would end whenever the dusk fully settled in. That occurred on Lap 172 but only after an hour had passed as SRL Southwest Tour promoter Larry Collins gave the race an hour to restore electricity before calling the race.

An hour passed and the four-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion was declared the winner.

“We had a really good car all weekend and it came to us as it got later,” Majeski said in a makeshift victory lane. “We made a really good adjustment on our first stop and the car just came to life. Obviously, we want to come here and win after 300 laps but we’re happy to bring home the check.”

The power outage wasn’t the only thing that made the fifth-annual Winter Showdown an odd race. Qualifying was rained out on Friday night and the field was set by overall practice times. There was also a massive crash on the restart just before Majeski took the field when third-place on back all crashed at the start-finish line.

That incident took out at least 15 cars and delayed the race by nearly an hour, notable because the track was up against the clock.

Majeski says he has never experienced a race quite like this one.

“What an odd race, odd weekend in general,” Majeski said. “It rains like 30 days a year here and it rained all three days here, which is pretty crazy. I’m really thankful it went our way because it sometimes goes the other way, like the Snowball Derby.”

Majeski had one of the fastest cars late in the Derby in December, but his wide five hubs delayed his pit stops and cost him valuable track position. That race paid $25,000 to the winner and Majeski made up for December with over $30,000 in winnings on Saturday night.

Derek Thorn and Preston Peltier completed the podium.

As for the lap 116 crash that played a major outcome in determining the finish …

Either the front row didn’t fire off consistenlt or the second row timed it wrong. Either way Thorn got into the back of Jeremy Doss, who got pushed in front of Derek Kraus and everyone just stacked up behind them.

Third row on back.

The incident wiped out notable contenders like Kraus, Tyler Ankrum, Donnie Wilson, Jacob Gomes, Cole Moore, Mike Longton and Dominic Ursetta.

The incident especially negated the run of Doss, the race’s polesitter and the 2018 Southwest Tour champion who led the most laps — 99 of the first 100. Doss was forced to restart at the back of the field after the crash, raced his way into the top-five but crashed again to bring out the final caution of the evening.

Willie Allen and Ryan Reed completed the top-five. Peltier’s podium came in a brand new car, the first built out of the merged Hamke Race Cars – Rowdy Manufacturing Stable owned by Kyle Busch and spearheaded by Cody Glick.

The complete results can be found below.

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Derek Thorn
  3. Preston Peltier
  4. Willie Allen
  5. Ryan Reed
  6. John Moore
  7. Kyle Neveau
  8. Carlos Vieira
  9. Tracy Bolin
  10. Tyler Fabozzi
  11. Brad Kossow
  12. Jeremy Doss
  13. Bob Lyon
  14. Doni Wanat
  15. Bear Rzesnowiecky
  16. Donnie Wilson
  17. Luke Hall
  18. Austin Herzog
  19. Jace Hansen
  20. Andy Allen
  21. Derek Kraus
  22. Logan Bearden
  23. Eric Holmes
  24. Eric Schmidt
  25. Tyler Ankrum
  26. Mike Longton
  27. Logan Bearden
  28. Cole Moore
  29. Jacob Gomes
  30. Jason Fraser
  31. Tyler Tanner
  32. Logan Jewell
  33. Jack Wood
  34. Chris Davidson
  35. Dan Holtz
  36. Dylan Lupton
  37. Dylan Caldwell

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models