Connect with us

Pro All Stars Series

Derek Ramstrom Wins PASS at Hickory, Derek Griffith Clinches National Title

Pro All Stars Series

Taking the lead with just over 30 laps remaining, Derek Ramstrom never looked back, taking his first career checkered flag in the PASS South Super Late Model Tour, at the Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown 200 at Hickory Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Second place finisher Derek Griffith captured the PASS Super Late Model National Championship, while Matt Craig finished third, earning the PASS South title for the third consecutive season.

“This is just awesome for us, we’ve been coming down here ever since 2006 and we’ve finally gotten us a win down south,” Ramstrom said. “Hickory is a great place to come to and reminds us of a lot of the tracks back home in New England.  We came with a totally different package this time and I just can’t say enough for all the guys and the work they put in to give us such a great car.”

Kodie Connor qualified on the pole position for the race, beating out Matt Craig for the top spot. Following a redraw of the top-10 qualifiers, Jody Measamer drew position number one, while Connor drew the second spot.

Connor led the first 28 laps, before being overtaken by Jake Crum for the top spot. Following a caution at lap 33 involving Brandon Barker, and Lucas Jones, Derek Ramstrom took his first lead of the race. Further back in the field, contact between Brandon Setzer and Preston Peltier on lap 60 would end Peltier’s day early, with heavy left side damage.

The lead changed hands between Ramstrom and Griffith a couple of times before the next caution on lap 96, where Conner reassumed the lead and would hold it until the competition caution at lap 125.

Ramstrom found his way to the front following the competition caution pit stops, and would hold position through a couple of cautions. Kodie Conner found his way back to the front with a little over 50 laps to go, only to be pushed back to third by Ramstrom and Setzer. While both appeared to be on their way to deciding the 200 lap race amongst themselves, Setzer sent Gracie Trotter around with 10 laps to go, collecting Kodie Conner. Setzer’s chance at the win came to an end, as he was sent to the rear of the field for Avoidable Contact.

From there on out, Ramstrom held control of the field, winning the Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown 200. Derek Griffith, Matt Craig, Cory Casagrande, and Jody Measamer rounded out the Top 5.

While Griffith walked away with the PASS National Championship, it didn’t come without drama. Earlier in the day, the car broke a trailing arm bracket, where Griffith narrowly avoided contact with the wall. His team would fix the car at Brandon Setzers shop nearby.

“This is just amazing, the guys did a great job to get the car repaired,” said Griffith.  “I can’t thank Brandon and Dennis [Setzer] for letting us use their shop. Ray Christian, my nearest competitor for the championship, he offered to let me use their backup car.  I mean, what can you say about that?  This has just been a great year and I’m so proud of what we’ve been able to accomplish.”

  1. Derek Ramstrom
  2. Derek Griffith
  3. Matt Craig
  4. Cory Casagrande
  5. Jody Measamer
  6. Austin Theriault
  7. Jake Crum
  8. Tyler Church
  9. Wyatt Alexander
  10. Brandon Lynn
  11. Ray Christian
  12. Tate Fogleman
  13. JP Josiasse
  14. Matt Wallace
  15. Brandon Barker
  16. Brandon Setzer
  17. Jeff Batten
  18. Ben Rowe
  19. Kodie Conner
  20. Gracie Trotter
  21. Gabe Brown
  22. Brandon Johnson
  23. TJ Brackett
  24. John-Michael Shenette
  25. Jared Irvan
  26. Lucas Jones
  27. Preston Peltier DNQ

Read more Short Track Scene:

Carter is a public relations student based out of Charlotte, NC

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Pro All Stars Series