Connect with us

Super Late Models

Kern County Winter Showdown features a big payday and bigger entry list

SRL Southwest Tour

When the Winter Showdown at Kern County Raceway first premiered back in 2015, it was called the Snowball Derby of the West Coast, but time has shown this event able to make a name for itself.

With a combined $150,000 purse, and a winner’s share of $30,000 and $3000-to start, it is without a doubt a crown jewel on its own merit and has an entry list in 2019 to back it up.

There are 47 cars on the provisional entry list and it includes some of the top names in pavement stock car racing. Most notable is Derek Thorn, the 2017 race winner and two-time reigning NASCAR K&N West champion.

Reigning SRL Southwest Tour champion Jeremy Doss will also travel to the coast in pursuit of a signature victory in a national major.

BIG NEWS: Next-Generation SLM debate is at a hostile stand-still

They will be challenged by some of the biggest names on the other coast, including four-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion Ty Majeski and teammate Derek Kraus, a three-time K&N winner at Kern.

Preston Peltier has entered a hastily built new Super Late Model out of the newly-combined Rowdy Manufacturing – Hamke Race Cars shop. Donnie Wilson, the 2016 Southern Super Series champion is also making the trip west from Oklahoma City.

NASCAR Xfinity Series regular Ryan Reed is making his return to Late Models for the event and reigning K&N Pro Series East champion and Truck Series regular Tyler Ankrum will look to close out on a race that eluded him one year ago.

Track action starts on Thursday and runs through Saturday. Tech inspection begins on Thursday morning with first practice immediately to follow. SPEARS Modifieds and local Super Stocks will race on Friday alongside Super Late Model qualifying at 6:30 PT.

The Winter Showdown itself is scheduled to begin around 1:30 PT with the modifieds preceding the Super Late Models. The race will have a live broadcast produced by available free to yearly subscribers to its video platform and $9.99 to its monthly subscribers.

The complete known entry list can be found below.

2 Craig Raudman Cottonwood, CA
2C Davin Cravens Boerne, TX
2W Donnie Wilson Oklahoma City, OK
5R Ryan Reed Bakersfield, CA
05 Eric Schmidt Roseville, CA
6F Tyler Fabozzi Anaheim Hills, CA
6U Dominic Ursetta Arvada, CO
7 Mike Longton Moxee, WA
08 Jace Hansen Denver, CO
08M Alex Malycke Alexandria, VA
9 Derek Kraus Stratford, WI
10 Dylan Lupton Elk Grove, CA
11B Tracy Bolin Valley Springs, CA
11F Jason Fraser Issaquah, WA
11H Austin Herzog Clovis, CA
12K Brad Kossow Oak Creek, WI
12W Jim Wulfenstein Pahrump, NV
14 Chris Davidson Pearland, TX
16 Jacob Gomes Manteca, CA
18 Jack Wood Loomis, CA
19M Eddy McKean Jerome, ID
19W Brandon White Eureka, CA
20 Cole Moore Granite Bay, CA
21H Eric Holmes Escalon, CA
21R Blaine Rocha Oakdale, CA
23 Dan Holtz Pacific Palisades, CA
26A Andy Allen Garden Grove, CA
26AA Willie Allen Centerville, TN
27 John Moore Granite Bay, CA
36 Luke Hall Alderpoint CA
40 Dylan Caldwell Nampa, ID
43 Derek Thorn Bakersfield, CA
44 Bob Lyon Agua Dulce, CA
45 Bear Rzesnowiecky Las Vegas, NV
48 Preston Peltier Brighton, CO
51V Carlos Vieira Livingston, CA
54 Joe Farre Las Vegas, NV
55 Jacob Smith Bakersfield, CA
58 Tyler Ankrum Colton, CA
65 Tyler Tanner Auburn, WA
66 Logan Bearden Leander, TX
71 Kyle Neveau Long Beach, CA
75 Jeremy Doss Upper Lake, CA
89 Doni Wanat Woodville, WA
91 Ty Majeski Seymour, WI
92 Logan Jewell Prince George, BC

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models