Connect with us

Super Late Models

Irwindale All-Star Showdown Returns this Weekend with a Super Late Model main event

The west coast will receive the short track spotlight this weekend

Southwest Tour

One week after an exciting east coast Super Late Model showcase, the opposite end of the country will take its turn at the spotlight with the All-Star Showdown 200 at Irwindale Speedway outside of Los Angeles.

Nearly 40 teams will chase a $25,000 prize on Friday and Saturday, the entry list reading like a comprehensive database of west coast short track superstardom. The most notable entries are four-time SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour champion Derek Thorn, reigning champion Cole Moore, perennial contender Preston Peltier and Chris Eggleston – winner of the $75,000 The Race at North Wilkesboro in 2011.

READ MORE: Why Stephen Nasse was disqualified from the Derby

Linny White, Chris Davidson, Trevor Huddleston, Eric Holmes and the Armstrong Brothers are also entered for the event as eight U.S. states are represented in Arizona, California, Colorado, Indiana, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas and Washington.

Twenty-five drivers on the preliminary entry list have Super Late Model victories to their names.

The race shares an historic lineage dating back to the NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown, an invitational event for the regional ELITE divisions, and then a K&N Pro Series combination exhibition event.

OPINION: Pollard versus Nasse is good for short track racing

This race will feature a 200-lap main event on the facility’s signature half-mile oval, with a 100-lap Pro Late Model and 75-lap SPEARS Modified race set for the third-mile infield oval. The Super Late Model showcase has an oval purse of $78,000 while the Pro Late Models will be racing for a $10,000 winner’s purse. The Modifieids are racing for 5,000-to-win.

The race, as is the case for the remaining regular SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour season, will air on SPEARSracing.TV — a collaboration between Low Budget TV and the sanctioning body.

Racing is scheduled to begin at 5:00 PT, with the Modifieds and Pro Late Models racing before the Super Late Model main event.

The complete entry list for the Super Late Model All-Star Showdown can be found below.

  • Dylan Lupton
  • Eric Schmidt
  • Dakoda Armstrong
  • Dalton Armstrong
  • Tyler Fabozzi
  • Owen Riddle
  • Don Zoll Jr
  • Chris Davidson
  • Tayler Riddle
  • Jacob Gomes
  • Jack Wood
  • Cole Moore
  • Eric Homes
  • Chris Eggleston
  • Greg Voigt
  • Andy Allen
  • Chris Eggleston
  • Scott Sanchez
  • Dan Holtz
  • Brandon Ferrington
  • John Moore
  • Kole Raz
  • Cale Kanke
  • Keith Spangler
  • Derek Thorn
  • Bob Lyon
  • Preston Peltier
  • Bear Rzenowiecky
  • Trevor Huddleston
  • Dean Thompson
  • Carlos Vieira
  • Joe Farre
  • Logan Bearden
  • Christian McGhee
  • Kyle Neveau
  • Bobby Hodges
  • Joey Iest
  • Linny White

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models