Connect with us

Super Late Models

Gus Dean scores special, emotional World Series win

Gus Dean won one for the entire reason he races in the first place.

His grandfather.

“I lost my best friend, my granddad 10 weeks ago, and that’s been really hard,” Dean said in Victory Lane. “He didn’t miss a single race. He would tell me before every race to be there at the end and get what I could.

“We got what we could tonight. I know he was riding with me. It feels good. It feels really good.”

The win, for the two-time ARCA Racing Series winner, was his first in a Super Late Model during the World Series of Asphalt and came on a podium with two of the best Donnie Wilson Motorsports cars driven by Brent Crews and Gio Ruggiero.

Dean delivered the seventh fastest time in qualifying and was inverted to the front row for the start of the race. He beat Derek Griffith off the pole to take the lead and never looked back. Griffith held on to second until nine to go but Crews wasn’t going to make up the big gap.

“I feel like we had a super-fast car, super pleased with our qualifying run and race speed,” Crews said. “There are some things I can work on, some things the team can work on but we have a fast car and feel really good about (the ASA race) on Tuesday.”

For Griffith to still get a top five, given massive struggles on Friday night, was still a point of progress to the two-time World Series of Asphalt champion.

“We unloaded Thursday, and thought we were decent and had issues with setup and getting the car out of the race track,” Griffin said of his tight conditions. “Friday, same thing. Decent, still in the race track. Put another set of tires on it and then were way off the track.

“The first night was a bit of a mess and not something we were super proud of. We had to work through it, made a lot of gains. We were like a 15th place car two days ago, tight tonight, but I feel the car getting better and better.”

Numerous drivers like Bubba Pollard, who inherited the pole in the invert, alongside Jake Finch and Kyle Steckly all dropped to the back just to log laps and work on their cars in advance of the ASA race on Tuesday.

The ASA race also counts towards World Series of Asphalt points.

  1. Gus Dean
  2. Brent Crews
  3. Gio Ruggiero
  4. Austin Nason
  5. Derek Griffith
  6. Jett Noland
  7. Conner Jones
  8. Derek Kraus
  9. William Sawalich
  10. Brad May
  11. Kris Wright
  12. Ty Fredrickson
  13. John Bolen
  14. Dawson Sutton
  15. Billy VanMeter
  16. Nicholas Naugle
  17. Albert Francis
  18. Mitch Haver
  19. Cole Butcher
  20. Tommy Catalano
  21. Brandon Turbush
  22. Danny Knoll
  23. Derek Kelley
  24. Amy Catalano
  25. Cody Strickler
  26. Jake Finch
  27. Bubba Pollard
  28. Kyle Steckly
  29. Gabe Sommers
  30. Jo Lawrence
  31. Steve Weaver
  32. James Lynch
  33. Hunter Wright
  34. David Weaver
  35. Patrick Thomas

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in Super Late Models