Connect with us

Super Late Models

Derek Griffith wins World Series as Ty Majeski reaches milestone

A new champion was crowned and a previous champion reached a milestone

Jim DuPont | NASCAR

At 25-years-old, Ty Majeski is already one of the most decorated short track racers in America, and he added to that legacy on Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway.

Just 24 hours after a wild rollover in the NASCAR Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway, Majeski returned south to the nearby short track and captured his 100th career Super Late Model feature in winning the Orange Blossom 100.

Majeski is now a four-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion, 2016 World Series of Asphalt champion, two-time Rattler 250 winner and 2016 Oktoberfest winner.

His reached the century mark of success in the 2020 World Series of Asphalt finale.

“It’s so special given the little amount of time that we’ve done it in,” Majeski said. “My first win came in 2013. We were part-time that year. In 2014, we only had two wins. In 2015, we started to pour it on. It’s really cool and a testament to my team and all the good people that’s been around.”

Anthony Sergi did not make it easy for Majeski to earn the achievement, leading the first 71 laps from the pole, after winning the invert lottery. He qualified eighth but was shuffled to the pole when fastest qualifier Bubba Pollard drew an invert of eighth.

Majeski spent the better part of 20 laps trying to find away around the local contender. After working the bottom for several attempts, Majeski moved to the outside and just powered around Sergi with relative ease.

There was a restart with 21 to go, but Majeski simply drove away from the field, not having to worry about a brake issue that had developed early in the race.

“We were losing brakes there when I was racing with Sergi, trying to manage them and they were going almost all the way to the floor,” Majeski said. “I was about the let the No. 9 (May) by, I took a desperation shot to the top and it stuck. I was trying to pump the brakes really hard trying to get the thing to hang in there and the brakes came back there during that caution. The car was pretty decent tonight and we got it done.”

Majeski crossed the finish line ahead of a top-5 that included Brad May, Jesse Love, Derek Griffith and Bubba Pollard.

That result was enough for Griffith to secure the 2020 World Series of Asphalt championship by 10 points over Brad May.

“I have been coming here since 2013, and just didn’t have a lot of strong runs like we have this week,” Griffith said. “I finally get to add my name to a list that includes Louie Mechalides, my crew chief, who won this championship in 2005.

“This is the best Speedweeks I have had for sure. It will be a career highlight for sure.”

His week included a victory in Race Four, one night after coming agonizingly close in his ARCA East debut for Chad Bryant Racing and ended it with the Speedweeks championship.

In addition to Mechalides, he joins the likes of Mark Martin, Dick Trickle, Gary Balough, Steve Wallace, Bubba Pollard and Majeski.

Already the 2018 Pro All-Stars Series National Champion, Griffith also established himself as a national prospect at 23-years-old and hopes to secure funding to continue on with CBR.

“If I’m going to do more ARCA stuff, I’m going to need some help,” Griffith said. “So, if anyone reads this and wants to be a part of it, give me a shout out.”

The complete results from the Orange Blossom 100 can be found below.

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Brad May
  3. Jesse Love
  4. Derek Griffith
  5. Bubba Pollard
  6. Sammy Smith
  7. Ryan Moore
  8. Anthony Sergi
  9. Justin Mondeik
  10. Daniel Dye
  11. Stephen Nasse
  12. Todd Stone
  13. Jake Garcia
  14. Colin Garrett
  15. Jerry Artuso
  16. Trey Bayne
  17. Austin MacDonald
  18. Gus Dean
  19. Brad Kossow
  20. Steve Weaver, Jr.
  21. J. Duke
  22. Patrick Thomas
  23. Kyle Sieg
  24. Augie Grill
  25. Vincent Staggs

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in Super Late Models