Connect with us

ARCA Midwest Tour

Midwest Tour salutes the troops this weekend at Jefferson

The region’s best Super Late Model drivers return to Jefferson Speedway this Saturday Night (May 25, 2024) for the ASA Midwest Tour ‘Salute the Troops 100’. Three former winners will take to ‘Wisconsin’s Action Track’ this Saturday. Current Midwest Tour point leader and five-time Champion Ty Majeski who currently resides third in the NASCAR Truck Series standings, has swept the Tour season thus far and is the only two-time winner of this event. Meanwhile, three-time Tour and Jefferson Speedway Champion Casey Johnson looks to defend his home turf, where he has won six Wisconsin State Championships. Chicagoland Champion Paul Shafer, Jr may be the sleeper amongst the three former winners when he returns to the site of his first Tour triumph, he was a close runner-up a year ago in this event.

Drivers to watch include defending Midwest Tour Champion Gabe Sommers (winner last weekend at Slinger Super Speedway, fast time last year and battled for win late), Max Kahler (3rd last year, 2023 UMA Super Late Champ), Eddie Hoffman (1997 ARTGO Challenge Series Champion, Grundy County Speedway and Illiana Motor Speedway Champion), Justin Mondeik (winner last weekend at State Park Speedway), Brent Edmunds (finished a strong 3rd at Joe Shear Classic), Ryan Farrell (4th last year), Levon VanDerGeest (won two weeks ago at Golden Sands Speedway), Riley Stenjem (former Jefferson Wisconsin State Championship Winner and Tundra Champion), Joseph Scholze (Late Model winner at LaCrosse and Jefferson), Jordan Devoy (2022 Icebreaker Winner), Luke Westenberg (Jefferson weekly Winner) and Billy Mohn (former Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year, Elko Speedway and LaCrosse Winner).

The next generation of racer will be well represented on Saturday night at Jefferson Speedway. A mix of those with experience at the tricky quarter-mile paved oval and those without will be on full display. Young challengers include Ty Fredrickson (winner at Dells Raceway Park and Wisconsin International Raceway in the last month), Mitch Haver (Big 8 Series and Tundra Rookie of the Year), Kody King (2022 Hawkeye Downs Champion), Braden Berge (Dells and Slinger Winner), Joe Valento (Midwest Truck and Late Model Stock Winner), James Lynch (former Midwest Truck Series Winner at Jefferson, Grundy County Weekly Winner) and Bryce Miller (2023 Hawkeye Downs Champion) who will be making his Super Late Model debut at his home track.

Schedule of Events for Salute the Troops 100
1pm Pit Gate Opens
3pm Spectator Gates Open
3pm Practice Begins
4:30pm Qualifying Begins
6pm Racing Begins

Event Ticket Pricing:
Adults: $25
Senior/Military: $20
Youth (ages 12-16): $15
Kids (ages 8-11): $6
Children ages 7 and under Free
Active and Reserve Military get a $5 concession voucher

Divisions: The ASA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Sportsman, Hobby Stocks and Bandits

Past Winners of Salute the Troops 100
2017 Ty Majeski
2018 Paul Shafer, Jr
2019 Casey Johnson
2021 Ty Majeski
2022 Jacob Nottestad
2023 Dalton Zehr

Entry list:

Casey Johnson
Mitch Haver
Paul Shafer Jr
Billy Mohn
Eddie Hoffman
Bryce Miller
Kody Kong
Gabe Sommers
Luke Westenberg
Max Kahler
Levon VanDerGeest
Braden Berge
Joe Valento
Ty Frederickson
Jordan Devoy
Justin Mondeik
Joseph Schloze
James Lynch
Riley Stenjem
Ryan Farrell
Brent Edmunds
Ty Majeski
James Swan

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in ARCA Midwest Tour