Connect with us


Tri-Track Modified season resumes on Wednesday night at Seekonk

Kyle Souza

On Wednesday night, more than 25 of the top Tour Type Modified drivers from across the East Coast and beyond will all be in one place — Seekonk Speedway in Massachusetts.

The annual Open Wheel Wednesday, a 100-lap Tri-Track Modified Series event that is worth $10,000 to the winner, will certainly draw a large car count with plenty of asphalt modified talent.

One of those drivers heading for the third-mile, nicknamed the Action Track of the East is Matt Hirschman. Big Money Matt has already been to Victory Lane three times in the Open Wheel Wednesday event, and will be looking to become the first driver to capture a back-to-back checkered flag in consecutive seasons.

He also looks to become the first to win the race four times.

“It’s a tough race to win, I’ve won it three times, but I’ve gone back-to-back in it. It’s a fun night. It’s one of those you definitely look forward to going to,” Hirschman said.

Much like some of his closest challengers for Wednesday’s event, Hirschman just competed at Seekonk earlier this month in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Seekonk 150. He’s hoping to use that as a driving point to improve his setup even more. Last year, not only did he win the Open Wheel Wednesday, he also won the second Tri Track race at Seekonk — the inaugural Haunted Hundred in October.

“I think we learned some things at the Whelen Modified Tour race there that will help us,” Hirschman said. “Even though we won the two Tri-Track races at Seekonk last year, I don’t think we were the best car there. I think I can make it better.”

The entries for Wednesday’s race is shaping up to be a good one.

Mike Willis, who is coming off the victory in the Tri-Track race at Claremont to open their season, will be in contention for the checkered flag. Names like Les Hinckley, Todd Annarummo, Rowan Pennink, Derek Ramstrom, Russ Hersey, Anthony Nocella, Steve Masse and many more are also expected to attend.

The event will have a live broadcast on for $24.99. The partial entry list can be found below.

Ryan Preece
Keith Rocco
Jon McKennedy
Derek Ramstrom
Ron Frees
Carl Medeiros Jr.
Ricky Collins
Anthony Nocella
Todd Annarummo
Ron Silk
Austin Kochenash
Jeff Rocco
Kyle James
Richard Savary
Russ Hersey
Mike Holdridge
Earl Paules
Jeff Gallup
Les Rose
Woody Pitkat
Tommy Barrett
Steve Masse
Sam Rameau
Ron Frees
Les Hinckley
Dana DiMatteo
Ricky Collins
Mike Willis Jr.
Rob Murphy
Matt Galko
Calvin Carroll
Brian Robie
Kurt Vigeant

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds