Connect with us


Todd Owen wins Thompson SK finale, Rocco wins fourth straight track title

Paul Lambert/STS

In the SK Modified season finale at Thompson, it was Todd Owen holding off Woody Pitkat and Mike Christopher Jr. to get the World Series feature victory.

It took some brilliant defensive driving for Owen to get the win, as Christopher who hounded Owen down the stretch.

“I kind of knew the way the bottom was, if I kept him down, he would’ve had to spin me out or something to get by me, and for two laps, I thought we were in good shape,” Owen said. “Then we did get together there. He lifted when he should’ve. He was definitely a good guy to race with. He gave it his all, but we both came out of it great, so that’s all you can ask for.”

Second was Pitkat, followed by Christopher, Troy Talman, and Keith Rocco. Rounding out the top-10 were Steven Masse, Glen Reen, Nick Ladyga, Joey Gada and John Studley.

Adam Gada started on pole, but Owen took the lead from him on the first lap.

Tyler Leary spun off of turn two on lap three to bring out the first caution flag of the event.

Noah Korner and Stephen Kopcik slammed into the turn four wall to bring out another yellow on lap five. Williams dove underneath Owen to take the lead on lap 10, but Owen took it right back.

Three laps later, Williams picked the lead back up before another spin on lap 18 bunched the field up.

On a restart with 10 laps to go, a nine-car pileup that saw Danny Cates fly through the air on the backstretch. The race was red-flagged, and Williams was parked due to his driving that preceded the wreck.

Owen would keep the lead on the restart, and hold on despite challenges from Christopher and Pitkat.

With his fifth-place finish, Rocco easily clinched his eighth SK Modified title at Thompson. The track championship was the 18th of his career.

“It’s kind of unheard of,” Rocco said of title No. 18. “It hasn’t even been 18 years, but every year we win a championship whether it’s [at Thompson], Stafford or Waterford.”

The full results can be found below:

  1. Todd Owen
  2. Woody Pitkat
  3. Mike Christopher Jr.
  4. Troy Talman
  5. Keith Rocco
  6. Steven Masse
  7. Glen Reen
  8. Nick Ladyga
  9. Joey Gada
  10. John Studley
  11. Adam Gada
  12. Joe Allegro Jr.
  13. Corey Barry
  14. Chris Jenson
  15. Ronnie Williams
  16. Timmy Jordan
  17. Danny Cates
  18. Tyler Leary
  19. Robert Palmer
  20. Brian Narducci
  21. Paul LaPlante
  22. Justin Albernaz
  23. Robert Goulet
  24. Noah Korner
  25. Steven Kopcik

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2021. Paul has also been published in the Boston Herald, Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds