Connect with us


Ronnie Williams takes Modified Racing Series finale at Thompson, Mike Willis Jr. crowned champion

Ronnie Williams enjoyed a breakout 2019 across several touring divisions

Thompson Speedway

A phenomenal racing season continued Saturday at Thompson Speedway for Ronnie Williams, as he emerged victorious in the season-ending 50-lapper in the Valenti Modified Racing Series.

It was a wire-to-wire victory for Williams, as he started on the pole and led every lap.

“We knew were going to start up front,” Williams said. “We knew we had a fast race car. Been fast all weekend. I just had to keep the wheels under it. … This group, they’re one of a kind. Gary puts together a great race car. It’s just my job to go out there and complete it, which is going out there and winning.”

Williams VMRS success in 2019 included three victories for Roscoe Racing. His first came on June 8 at Speedway in Winchester and another on June 23 at New Hampshire.

“I don’t know what it is,” Williams said. “They don’t have the biggest crew in the world … but they put their hearts and souls into it every time you go to the race track you know it’s going to be a fast car. It’s basically all up to the driver at that point. I think everyone going into that car knows that the goal is to win. Second place isn’t an option. … He’s had a great group of drivers and hopefully I can be here next year for him.”

After two yellow flags that occurred before the field could complete a single lap, the race flowed quickly. The only other caution that came out was a Colbey Fournier spin on Lap 27.

While the finish wasn’t uneventful, Mike Willis Jr. picked up enough points to lock up the Modified Racing Series crown, placing 22nd after a series of incident derailed his night.

“It was a great year,” Willis said. “We got our first win this year with the [series]. … We had a good shot at it last year. I thought we were going to get it last year and it didn’t come our way. It was really important to get this championship for me. We’ve always won at our local track so to go out here and win in our touring series at many different tracks is pretty amazing.”

The full results can be found below:

  1. Ronnie Williams
  2. Chase Dowling
  3. Craig Lutz
  4. Todd Owen
  5. Joey Cipriano
  6. Donnie Lashua
  7. Cameron Sontag
  8. Cory DiMatteo
  9. Rob Richardi
  10. Andy Shaw
  11. Brad Vanhouten
  12. Dave Etheridge
  13. Shelly Perry
  14. Derek Robbie
  15. Dan Meservey Jr.
  16. Andrew Krause
  17. Artie Pederson
  18. Anthony Flannery IV
  19. Colbey Fournier
  20. George Sherman
  21. Les Rose
  22. Mike Willis Jr.
  23. Dylan Rock
  24. Richard Savary
  25. Kevin Iannarelli

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2019. Paul has also been published in Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds