Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Starting lineup for the South Boston 200

Kyle Dudley and Kaden Honeycutt lead the field to green

The South Boston 200 is a long race but Kyle Dudley will have track position to start the first race of the Virginia Late Model Stock Triple Crown.

14.995 got it done in time trials.

“I’m obviously super fast,” Dudley said. “We’ve been super fast all weekend. We unloaded fast. I have a lot of laps here this year, which helps a lot.

“I’ve been really pleased all weekend. Minor tweaks. It’s hot and slick and I don’t want to get caught up in the game of chasing speed in the sun.

“Really just stuck to the plan and I really can’t believe we put that lap down. It’s a good place to start.”

Read more: Why the SoBo 200 and Triple Crown is a big deal

Kaden Honeycutt will have almost as good a place to start from the outside from row in his Measmer Usry No. 17.

“I feel really good about it,” Honeycutt said. “We tried a different air split and it didn’t work out too good. We thought the right rear would come in quicker and it did the opposite, went to the left front. We lost some turn.

“But I feel like our race pace is really good. Starting up front here is huge. It’s been three years since I’ve run the 200 so I’m just excited to be back and back here in such a good car.”

Brenden Queen is starting third and driving for Lee Pulliam, who won this race six years in a row, and then added a seventh as a car owner in 2022.

“We were on the pole last year so I know how big early track position is but third ain’t bad,” Queen said. “Got a little free on gas and that was probably the pole. I thought we did everything right but just a little bit off.”

The race will begin somewhere around 8:30, pending the results of local division preliminaries. It airs live on FloRacing.

Here’s the starting lineup.

1. Kyle Dudley
2. Kaden Honeycutt
3. Brenden Queen
4. Bobby McCarty
5. Mason Bailey
6. Chase Burrow
7. Carter Langley
8. Chase Burrow
9. Trevor Ward
10. Tate Fogleman
11. Deac McCaskill
12. Blake Stallings
13. Isabella Robusto
14. Sam Yarbrough
15. Logan Clark
16. Mike Looney
17. Landon Pembelton
18. Kade Brown
19. Brandon Pierce
20. Camden Gullie
21. Andrew Grady
22. Jacob Borst
23. Connor Hall
24. Timothy Peters
25. Matt Waltz
26. George Waldrop
27. Stacy Puryear
28. Jason Myers
29. Brian Thomas
30. Raymond Pittman
31. Jessica Cann

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in Late Model Stock Cars