Connect with us

Pro Late Models

Canadian Short Track Nationals boasts an international, star-studded entry list

Barry Cantrell

The latest entry list for the Canadian Short Track Nationals Pro Late Model race at Jukasa Motor Speedway in Cayuga, Ontario is exactly what a race of this caliber should be.

The race will take place on September 1 and 2 and will pay the equivalent of $38,000 to win and $1,520 to start in U.S. currency.

There are 64 drivers already entered for a race that will only start 40, most of them from Canada and including several stars from the regional NASCAR Pinty’s Series. The United States is also well-represented with newly-crowned Oxford 250 winner Bubba Pollard staying up north to make his debut trip north of the border to compete in the race.

“Man, I couldn’t even tell you how excited I am to get to Canada,” Pollard said. “I’m not the guy that just wants to hang out on the porch his whole life and race an hour from home. These last few years we’ve been to California, we’ve been to Wisconsin, we’ve been to Washington – and they’ve all been awesome experiences. I know that Canada is going to be the same

“It looks like they have a great facility up there. The entry list has a few names that I know real well and a lot that I don’t recognize. So we’re looking forward to getting up there and see what we have to do to outrun the rest of these guys.”

Also included on the entry list is Brian Campbell, winner of the Money in the Bank 250 at Berlin Raceway back in June.

“I think the staff and promoter should be real proud of the job they’ve done leading up to this event,” notes Campbell. “The caliber of competition they’ve attracted is top-notch. It’s not often you can unload at a place and find yourself racing against some of the top guys from Canada, top guys from the Southeast and fast cars from the Midwest.

“Anytime you have a promoter that’s willing to take a chance like this and offer up a big time purse – you owe it to them as a racer to go and support the show. Short Track Racing – as a whole – needs racers like this. It’s an honor to have the opportunity to be there and be a part of the first event for these guys. Hopefully we can be standing in victory lane when it’s all said and done.”

READ MORE: to offer Canadian Short Track Nationals Pay-Per-View

On the Pinty’s Series front, current championship leader DJ Kennington has entered and will be joined by occasional participants JR Fitzpatrick and Jason Hathaway.

“If your name is on this entry list and you aren’t excited for this deal – you need to check to make sure you have a pulse,” Hathaway said. “You hear guys in this sport constantly trying to tell you, one way or the other, that they think their team is the best around. Well – here’s the chance to prove it.

“This is gigantic for Canadian racing. Just listen to the buzz that’s been generated for this race. It’s putting Canadian racing back on the map in a way that we haven’t seen in a long, long time. The pits are going to be jammed and I’m sure the stands will be too. There’s no one in this industry that wants to miss out on being a part of this race.”

The Canadian Short Track Nationals will have a live pay-per-view broadcast presented by The two-day ticket costs $34.99 and Sunday only costs $24.99.

The broadcast will begin on Saturday, September 1 with live coverage of the APC United Late Model Series and Outlaw Super Late Models.

Coverage will continue on Sunday, September 2 when Pro Late Models hit the track for their chance at qualifying for the $50,000-to-win (CAD) main event.’s live broadcast will cover the Pro Late Model last chance races, as well as the Super Stock feature, leading into the 200-lap Pro Late Model feature.

Other American Late Model notables include

  1. (1) Shawn McGlynn, Waterloo, Ontario
  2. (2) Tim Ellis, Kitchener, Ontario
  3. (3) Jason Hathaway, Stouffville, Ontario
  4. (3) Shae Gemmell, Dorchester, Ontario
  5. (4) Trevor Monaghan, Mount Hope, Ontario
  6. (5) TBA, Ray, Michigan
  7. (5) Paighton Jacobs, London, Ontario
  8. (6) Matt Wallace, Concord, North Carolina
  9.  (7) Branden Verhoeven, Kerwood, Ontario
  10. (7) Todd Delisle, Courtice, Ontario
  11. (8) Kent Vincent, Crapaud, Prince Edward Island
  12. (9) Brandon Watson, Stayner, Ontario
  13. (10K) Jesse Kennedy, Southwold, Ontario
  14. (12) Matthew Shirley, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  15. (14) Carson Hocevar, Portage, Michigan
  16. (15) Derek Lynch, Warkworth, Ontario
  17. (17) Joshua Stade, Chesley, Ontario
  18. (18) Patrick Freel, London, Ontario
  19. (20) Raphael Lessard, Saint Joseph De Beauce, Quebec
  20. (21) Matt Pritiko, London, Ontario
  21. (22) Jo Lawrence, London, Ontario
  22. (24) Nick Goetz, Southampton, Ontario
  23. (26) Bubba Pollard, Senoia, Georgia
  24. (27) Matt Box, Milton, Ontario
  25. (28) DJ Kennington, St Thomas, Ontario
  26. (29) Ryan Kimball, Norwood, Ontario
  27. (29X) Sean Grosman, Miami, Florida
  28. (31W) Rick Spencer-Walt, Oro-Medonte, Ontario
  29. (31) Jade Franklin, Coldwater, Ontario
  30. (32) Treyten Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ontario
  31. (33) Weston Griffith Jr, Crown Point, Indiana
  32. (35) Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, Massuchusetts
  33. (36) David Elliott, Dundas, Ontario
  34. (41) Taylor Holdaway, Orillia, Ontario
  35. (41SC) Samuel Charland, Saint-Christophe-D’Arthabaska, Quebec
  36. (42) Kyle Reid, Fort McMurray, Alberta
  37. (44) Steve Laking, Guelph, Ontario
  38. (46) Billy Zardo, Brampton, Ontario
  39. (47) Jordan Sims, Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
  40. (47) Brian Campbell, Wyoming, Michigan
  41. (48) Dwayne Baker, Stayner, Ontario
  42. (51) Braden Langille, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  43. (52) Jake Sheridan, Mount Brydges, Ontario
  44. (53) Cole Butcher, Porters Lake, Nova Scotia
  45. (54) Jarrett Butcher, Porters Lake, Nova Scotia
  46. (63) Hudson Nagy, Mount Hope, Ontario
  47. (71) Johnny VanDoorn, Muskegon, Michigan
  48. (71) Harold Fair, Milan, Michigan
  49. (72) Junior Farrelly, Guelph, Ontario
  50. (73) Cole Powell, Mount Brydges, Ontario
  51. (76) Cayden Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ontario
  52. (81) Nevin Scott, Clyde River, Prince Edward Island
  53. (81) Andrew Gresel, Aleenford, Ontario
  54. (81) Tyler Roahrig, Plymouth, Indiana
  55. (82) Steve Arrand, Ailsa Craig, Ontario
  56. (84) JR Fitzpatrick, Cambridge, Ontario
  57. (84QC) Martin Latulippe, Vallee Jonction, Quebec
  58. (86) Billy Schwartzenburg, Guelph, Ontario
  59. (89) James Horner, Fraserville, Ontario
  60. (89c) Shawn Chenoweth, Plattsville, Ontario
  61. (91) Patrick Laperle, St Denis Sur Richelieu, Quebec
  62. (96) Jaxson Jacobs, London, Ontario
  63. (114) Sterling Marlin, Columbia, Tennessee

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Pro Late Models