Connect with us

A Mid-western stock car tradition will hit a major milestone this weekend as the RedBud 300 expects to celebrate its 50th running with a star-studded entry list.

Led by NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship leader William Byron, upwards of 30 Super Late Model teams are expected to arrived at Anderson Speedway in Indiana to chase one of the most prestigious trophies in the discipline.

For Byron and Kyle Busch Motorsports, using a NASCAR off-weekend to compete in a top-tier Super Late Model event made all the sense in the world.

“We marked this race on our calendar as soon as the Truck Series schedule came out,” Byron told Short Track Scene on Wednesday. “There’s going to be a great entry list and it’s a long race which has always been a great tool to keep you sharp for NASCAR.

“That’s why I like running these races. Much like NASCAR, you’re not constantly out front. You have to manage your tires and you have to work through traffic. It’s just a good time.”

The provisional entry list also includes traditional heavy hitters Bubba Pollard, Dalton Sargeant and CRA Super Series championship leader Cody Coughlin. The list however, does not include Battle at Berlin 251 winner Erik Jones, meaning that the CRA $100,000 Triple Crown bonus will go unclaimed this season.

It is typically paid out to the driver that can somehow win Berlin, the RedBud and the Winchester 400 in October. Jones accomplished the feat last year but has a NASCAR Xfinity Series commitment on Saturday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

But still, the 300 is an impressive accomplishment by itself with previous winners Jones, Daniel Hemric and Mark Martin carrying the banner for what a win on Saturday night could signify. It’s a fact not lost on Pollard, whom lost to Hemric in the 2014 running.

“The track owner Rick Dawson has always been good to us there and that’s a race you just want to support anyway,” Pollard said. “But then you look at the other guys he’s able to attract and that make this a big time event that everyone wants to win. We’re excited.” will have a live pay-per-view broadcast of the event via its 51TV online platform. A one-day pass costs $19.99.

The current entry list for the RedBud 300 can be viewed below.

  • Cody Coughlin
  • Jon Beach
  • Dalton   Armstrong
  • Ryan Isaacs
  • Wes Griffith Jr
  • William Byron
  • Steve Dorer
  • Brett Robinson
  • Trevor Noles
  • Eddie VanMeter
  • Rick Turner
  • Bubba Pollard
  • Brandon Oakley
  • Stephen Nasse
  • Dalton Sargent
  • Johnny VanDoorn
  • Thomas Woodin
  • John Neal
  • Trent Snyder
  • Cole Anderson
  • Billy VanMeter

Complete RedBud 300 Coverage

Bubba Pollard Seeks Big Win in Return to Traveling

Bubba Pollard Advocates Short Track Driver Council

Pay-Per-View Broadcast Link

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models