Connect with us

Super Late Models

Redbud 400 at Anderson Entry List, PPV Broadcast Details

Dick Trickle once referred to it as ‘flying a jet fighter around a gymnasium.’

In typical fashion, the NASCAR industry borrowed the moniker in reference to Bristol Motor Speedway. But in fact, that statement actually references the prestigious Redbud 400 at Anderson Speedway in Indiana.

The 400 lap Super Late Model race is arguably pound-for-pound the most exciting stock car race in North America, annually place over 25 cars on the high banked quarter mile just north of Indianapolis.

The race has been won by many of the most notable names in the discipline, including Tiny Lund, Mark Martin, Bob Senneker, Alan Kulwicki, Dick Trickle, Gary St. Amant, Kyle Busch, Bubba Pollard and Steve Wallace.

A healthy roster of 26 contenders have already pre-entered in the hopes of adding or extending their legacies on Monday night.

The entry list begins with three-time and defending winner Johnny VanDoorn, who won under emotional circumstances in 2019, and could do the same on Monday after welcoming a daughter overnight on Saturday. Dalton Armstrong won the race in 2016 and along with 2011 winner Steve Dorer are the other previous winners entered into the event.

The four most recent ARCA CRA Super Series champions are all entered — Greg Van Alst, Josh Brock, Logan Runyon and Cody Coughlin.

After competing on Wednesday night in the prestigious Slinger Nationals, Stephen Nasse, Austin Nason and Casey Johnson will all make their way Back Home Again in Indiana.

Kyle Busch Motorsports regularly files an entry for the Redbud 400 and will be represented this season by 2019 Pro Late Model World Series of Asphalt champion Sammy Smith. The No. 51 has been entered in previous seasons with Raphael Lessard and Noah Gragson.

Hoosier State notables include Jack Dossey III, Rick Turner, Brett Robinson, Brian Demland, Jeff Marcum, Mason Keller, Hunter Jack and Jaren Crabtree.

This will be the fourth event of the 2020 CRA Super Series season after the cancellation of early season events due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Season winners include Carson Hocevar at Lebannon I-44 on May 30, Cody Coughlin at Anderson on June 20 and Bubba Pollard last weekend at Jennerstown Speedway in an event co-sanctioned by the CARS Tour.

Josh Brock enters as the championship leader with Kyle Crump in second and 25 points out. Michael Simko is in third place, 14 points behind Crump. 2019 series Champion Greg Van Alst and 2017 series Champion Logan Runyon are tied for fourth place and 10 points behind Simko.

Those unable to make it to Anderson on Monday have the option to watch via a PPV for $20. Click here for the broadcast details and purchase options.

The complete entry list can be found below.

  • 1 – Cody Coughlin
  • 5 – Dalton Armstrong
  • 5J – Casey Johnson
  • 5T – Rick Turner
  • 6 – Logan Runyon
  • 6X – Ryan Isaacs
  • 7 – John DeAngelis, Jr.
  • 10 – Steve Dorer
  • 12 – Dan Leeck
  • 14 – Carson Hocevar
  • 14N – Austin Nason
  • 15 – Brett Robinson
  • 15D – Brian Demland
  • 17 – Josh Brock
  • 20 – Jack Dossey, III.
  • 22 – Brandon Oakley
  • 23 – Eddie Van Meter
  • 28 – Jeff Marcum
  • 29 – Mason Keller
  • 35 – Greg Van Alst
  • 41 – Hunter Jack
  • 51 – Sammy Smith
  • 51N – Stephen Nasse
  • 62 – Jaren Crabtree
  • 71 – Johnny VanDoorn
  • 93 – Austin Thom

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models