Connect with us

The case could be made that the Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway is the first major Super Late Model race of the season and it once again has the entry list to reflect it.

The 32-car roster features Snowball Derby winners, regional champions and NASCAR top prospects alike. And as the first race of the 2017 Southern Super Series season, it always reflects the first look at those who might be interested in chasing the season-long championship.

Headlining the roster has to be second-generation racer Harrison Burton whom has been the driver to beat all across the southeast this spring. He opened the year with a victory in CRA Speedfest at Watermelon Capital Speedway and followed that up with a World Series of Asphalt speedweeks championship and a CARS Tour victory last weekend at Concord Speedway.

“That’s been a challenging track for us, but we’ve been really fast out of the truck this year,” Burton said. “I think we expect to have a good car and I’ve really started to appreciate South Alabama Speedway.”

READ MORE: Rattler 250 winner has to pose with a rattlesnake in Victory Lane

Leading the charge for the Southern Super Series is defending champion Donnie Wilson with expected contenders Bubba Pollard, Kyle Plott, Garrett Jones and Paul Kelley all on the entry list. The one-offs are just as impressive with defending race winner Ty Majeski back looking for a repeat chance to hold the rattlesnake in Victory Lane with New Smyrna PPG Sealants 100 winner Jeff Choquette also having filed an entry.

Stephen Nasse won the Baby Rattler Pro Late Model race last year and expects to be a contender in both races once again.

“Winning it last year, the Baby Rattler, definitely felt really good and was a nice accomplishment,” Nasse said. “I don’t really think it gives us much of an advantage, but I do think we’re going to be very strong. South Alabama is one of my favorite and better tracks so I think will be strong in both races.”


As is usually the case in the Southern Super Series, head tech director Ricky Brooks is expected to have a tight rule book and parity will be the word of the weekend. The list of potential winners is at least 15-deep if not more.

The 41st annual Rattler 250 weekend kicks off on Friday with practice for the Southern Super Series as well as feature racing for local divisions. On Saturday, the grid for the Rattler 250 will be set during time trials before the Pro Late Models hit the track for the Baby Rattler 125.

All of that leads up to the big show, the Rattler 250 on Sunday, March 20. The entire weekend is available via a live 51TV PPV with a two-day $39.99 package with Sunday only costing fans $24.99.


The complete entry list can be viewed below.

1.    12    Harrison Burton
2.    16    Brandon McReynolds
3.    51    Stephen Nasee
4.    97    Chase Purdy
5.    99    Rahael Lessard
6.    2    Donnie Wilson
7.    26    Bubba Pollard
8.    26    Chandler Smith
9.    15    Christian Eckes
10.    14    Conner Okrzesik
11.    14    Chris Davidson
12.    81    Derek Scott, Jr
13.    66    Steve Wallace
14.    88    Garrett Jones
15.    71    John Van Dourn
16.    7    Casey Roderick
17.    51    MIchael Atwell
18.    112    Augie Grill
19.    30    Bobby Knox Jr
20.    4    Kyle Plott
21.    19    Kason Plott
22.    04    Cory Roper
23.    5    Jerry Artuso
24.    55    Cole Anderson
25.    9    Jeff Choquette
26.    91    Ty Majeski
27.    84    Martin Latulippe
28.    7    Paul Shafer Jr
29.    66    Logan Bearden
30.    79    Kyle Bryant
31.    10    Steve Dorer
32.    98    Paul Kelley

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models