Connect with us

In the background of Daytona Speedweeks, the first NASCAR championships of 2017 will be determined after seven races in nine nights at the World Series of Asphalt at New Smyrna Speedway.

The high speed half-mile is located just 15 miles south from Daytona International Speedway and has long been a popular venue for racing die-hards and for short trackers to test their skills in advance of The Great American Race.

The event showcases daily features for Super Late Models, Pro Late Models, Tour-Type Modifieds and Florida Modifieds. The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East will also start their season at NSS during the course of the World Series of Asphalt and the overall event runs from February 17-25.

The first six Super Late Model races at the track will be 35-laps in length and featured on the undercard for six of the first seven nights, all leading up to the PPG/Tower Sealants 100 on Saturday, February 25, which will serve as the main event of the night and the championship race for the division.

Several of the top Super Late Model drivers in the country, including Steve Wallace, Stephen Nasse, Ty Majeski and Harrison Burton are expected to compete in at least one of the races and many of them will compete for the World Series championship.

Majeski became the 15th different World Series Super Late Model champion in 15 years, defeating Burton by 24 points. He joined Dick Trickle, Mark Martin, Pete Hamilton and David Rogers as titleholders.

Now he hopes to become the first driver since Pete Orr (1992-1994) to repeat as Speedweeks champion.

“We enjoy running down there and it’s definitely a place we’re good at, but the main thing is that this is kind of a showcase event,” Majeski said. “We perform well there and it’s in front of the entire industry. This is the track NASCAR folks come down to when they clock out at the big track.

“So it’s important to us because we want to test ourselves against the best while networking.”

Burton is running for both the full Super Late Model championship and is entered in the K&N Pro Series season-opener. He’s won at the track before and it generated his first bit of national exposure. That’s what the next two weeks mean for top prospects.

“We’ve had some bad luck there in the past,” Burton said. “But a lot of that is just a sign of how tough the racing is. Everyone that goes to New Smyrna expects to contend and there’s just no room to be off even a little bit.”

For just the third time in event history, the World Series of Asphalt will also have a free online streaming broadcast on The schedule and entry lists for the World Series can be found below.

2017 World Series of Asphalt Schedule

Thursday February 16

Parking and Practice Day


Friday February 17

Super Late Models 35

Pro Late Models 35

Sportsman 35

Pro Truck 50


Saturday February 18

Super Late Models 35

Pro Late Model Twin 35s

Sportsman 50


Sunday February 19

K&N East Series 200

Southern Sprintcar Shootcar Series


Monday February 20

Tour-type Modified 50

IMCA Modifieds 35

Super Late Models 35

Pro Late Models 35


Tuesday February 21

IMCA Modified 75

Super Late Model 50

Tour-type Modifieds 35


Wednesday February 22

John Blewett III Memorial Tour Type Modified 76

IMCA Modified 35

Super Late Models 35

Pro Late Models 35


Thursday February 23

Pro Late Models 35

Tour Type Modifieds 35

ICMA Modifieds 35

Super Late Models 35


Friday February 24

Richie Evans Memorial Tour Type Modified  100

Tower Sealants Pro Late Model 100

IMCA Modifieds 35


Saturday February 25

PPG/Tower Sealants Super Late Model 100

Pro Late Models 35

IMCA Modifieds 35

2017 World Series of Asphalt Entries (Incomplete)

Super Late Models

  • Dalton Armstrong
  • Daniel Keene Jr.
  • Derek Kraus
  • David Rogers
  • Harrison Burton
  • Derek Griffith
  • Mason Diaz
  • Spencer Davis
  • Frederick Moore
  • Stephen Nasse
  • Ryan Moore
  • Ty Majeski
  • Garrett Hall
  • Chase Purdy
  • Steve Weaver, Jr.

Pro Late Model

  • Todd Stone
  • Randy Neal
  • Matt Wallace
  • Hope Hornish
  • RS Senter
  • David Weaver
  • Bill Burba
  • Spencer Davis
  • Frederick Moore
  • Steve Laking
  • Ryan Millington
  • Monte Gress

Tour Type Modified

  • JR Bertuccio
  • Ryan Preece
  • Timmy Solomito
  • Joe DeGracia
  • Jonathan McKennedy
  • Tyler Rypkema
  • Ricky Moxley
  • Calvin Carroll
  • Jimmy Blewett
  • Justin Bonsignore
  • Tommy Catalano
  • Matt Hirschman
  • Amy Catalano
  • Jimmy Zacharias
  • Matt Montoneri
  • Ron Silk

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models