Connect with us

Super Late Models

MWT Joe Shear 200 Now $10k to win at Madison International

Matt Weaver | STS

The Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour will now be chasing a $10,000 top price when their season begins on May 6 at Madison International Speedway for the annual Joe Shear Classic presented by SCAG Power Equipment.

For the first time ever, the 200 lap contest will reward the winning driver $10,000 for their efforts and will pay $1,000 to start the 28 car feature event.

Last season, Andrew Morrissey clawed his way to the top of the field in a remarkable 200 lap contest. Morrissey passed Travis Sauter with 16 laps to go in a race that had 10 lead changes amongst seven drivers. Former Madison track champions Sauter, Rich Bickle, Jr and 2017 Super Late Model Triple Crown Champion Dan Fredrickson all swapped the lead in the closing stages in a race that looked to be four-time Midwest Tour Champion Ty Majeski’s destiny to win.

Fredrickson mounted a late race charge to finish second, followed by Majeski who passed eight cars in the final twenty laps to claim the final podium position.

“The 200 lap format played out great last season. The Joe Shear Classic has been a marquee event for us. All indications are that it will play out again great in 2018, honoring one of the great drivers I grew up watching win around the Midwest.” Added Gregg McKarns, whom along with his wife Angie own and operate Madison International.

Joining the ARCAMT Super Late Models will be the Mid-American Stock Car Series and the Midwest Trucks Series.

Spectator gates will open Sunday May 6 at 11:30am, racing begins at 2pm and will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family Pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adult tickets and up to four admissions for those ages 17 and under. For additional information visit or call 608-835-9700.

Past Winners of Joe Shear Classic at Madison International

  • 2008 Dan Fredrickson
  • 2009 Nathan Haseleu
  • 2010 Steve Carlson
  • 2011 Ross Kenseth
  • 2012 Andrew Morrissey
  • 2013 Travis Sauter
  • 2014 Nathan Haseleu
  • 2015 Johnny Sauter
  • 2016 Ty Majeski
  • 2017 Andrew Morrissey

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models