Connect with us

Brian Campbell won his second ARCA CRA Super Series victory of the season on Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway in Michigan but he wasn’t the first driver to cross the finish line.

Four-time CRA champion Scott Hanzt thought he broke a four-year winless streak when he out-dueled Campbell but the veteran was disqualified for illegal suspension parts in the rear end of his Super Late Model.

“It really hasn’t soaked in yet that we got the win tonight, I feel pretty bad for Hantz,” Campbell said in the CRA Tech area. “Obviously we’re happy to take the win, but definitely don’t want to win like that. It’s kind of mixed emotions right now. Unfortunately Hantz had something on his car that is no longer allowed in the rules, it’s black and white. We’ll take the win and move on to the next race, but we feel awfully bad.”

Hantz leads the CRA in all-time victories (31) but hasn’t visited Victory Lane since the August event at Flat Rock in 2013.

“I had a part on the rear suspension that’s no longer allowed, and I guess it was an oversight on my part,” Hantz said. “The CRA does a good job. It’s one of the reasons why I’ve raced with them so long. I just got caught by an infraction on a suspension piece that I didn’t really realize had changed in the rules for the 2017 season. I don’t think it would’ve changed the outcome of the race, but it’s just totally on me.”

With his victory, Campbell now sits second in all-time wins with 23, eight behind Hantz.

Eric Lee led the first 73 laps from the pole on Saturday night but surrendered the position on a Lap 74 restart. He was eliminated from contention shortly after during a mid-race crash.

Harold Fair Jr. was scored second after technical inspection followed by the David Gilliland Racing teammates of Raphael Lessard and Chase Purdy. Jimmy Thiel completed the top five.

The race was the final event of the CRA regular season before the four-race Chase for the Championship. Barring a rules misinterpretation, the eight drivers set to participate have already been locked-in. They are:

  1. Travis Braden
  2. Johnny VanDoorn
  3. Brian Campbell
  4. Josh Brock
  5. Hunter Jack
  6. Logan Runyon
  7. Dalton Armstrong
  8. Wes Griffith

The complete results from the Flat Rock 125 can be found below:

  1. Brian Campbell
  2. Harold Fair Jr
  3. Raphael Lessard
  4. Chase Purdy
  5. Jimmy Thiel
  6. Hunter Jack
  7. Logan Runyon
  8. Kyle Crump
  9. Wes Griffith Jr
  10. Eric Lee
  11. Johnny VanDoorn
  12. Tommy O’Leary
  13. Scott Hantz

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in ARCA/CRA Super Series