Connect with us

NASCAR Pinty's Series

Treyten Lapcevich Wins Pinty’s Opener in Wild Shootout

That’s two wins at Sunset in a row for the No. 20 team

Matthew Manor

Treyten Lapcevich would not be denied.

The defending winner of the NASCAR Pinty’s Series season opener at Sunset Speedway had led every lap leading up to a three-lap shootout but missed the corner a lap into the final restart. That gave way to Alex Guenette taking the white flag.

But again, the second-generation racer would not be denied, and hip-checked Guenette on his way to winning this race for a second consecutive year.

“We had stretched the lead there and showed the speed we had,” Lapcevich said. “From there, it was just the restarts. Those restarts got nerve-racking. He had me jacked up through Turn 1 and there wasn’t much you can do when your rear tires aren’t spinning on the ground, but we came back and got it done on the last laps.”

Guenette managed to hold off Lacroix to claim the second rung of the podium.

“I gave it all I had there. Got the lead with one lap to go but just came up short,” said Guenette. “Gives us a lot of confidence for the rest of the season”.

Several expected contenders had disappointing results behind Lapcevich. Former APC Series champion Brandon Watson spent most of the race off the lead lap and then was involved in a pair of incidents. Alex Tagliani spent most of the race around the top-five but was sent around first by LP Dumoulin and then knocked out of the race in a crash involving Watson and Dexter Stacey.

“I forgive but I don’t forget,” Tagliani said.

Andrew Ranger was involved in three incidents as well.

Guenette, Kevin Lacroix, defending champion MA Camirand and Donald Theetge ended the day inside the top-five. The season is set to continue on May 21 with the annual Victoria Day Weekend event at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

NASCAR Pinty’s NTN Ultimate Bearing Experience 250
Sunset Speedway
May 13 2023

  1. Treyten Lapcevich
  2. Alex Guenette
  3. Kevin Lacroix
  4. Marc-Antoine Camirand
  5. Donald Theetge
  6. DJ Kennington
  7. LP Dumoulin
  8. JP Bergeron
  9. Larry Jackson
  10. Brandon Watson
  11. Brandon McFarlane
  12. Dexter Stacey
  13. Malcolm Strachan
  14. Daniel Bois
  15. Josh Collins
  16. Wallace Stacey
  17. Andrew Ranger
  18. Kyle Steckly
  19. Alex Tagliani
  20. Thomas Nepveu
  21. Glenn Styres

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He also has extensive experience covering NASCAR, IndyCar and Dirt Sprint Cars.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




More in NASCAR Pinty's Series