Connect with us

After an 18th-place struggle in race one, Tyler Rypkema took advantage of an early afternoon pole and a caution-free race to claim Tuesday’s 35-lap Tour-Type Modified feature at New Smyrna Speedway.

Rypkema made the most of his track position, surging to the lead on the race’s start and holding off the occasional challenge from Jimmy Zacharies as he led wire-to-wire to claim the victory.

Afterward, Rypkema called it the greatest victory in his young career.

“This is the biggest win of my career, even if it’s only a 35-lapper,” Rypkema said. “Hands down, this is the greatest competition I’ve ever raced against down here at New Smyrna, and it’s nice to see 23 cars down here.

“Last night we were running in the top 10 when we ended up breaking a rear end and causing a lot of transmission. I really owe this victory to my guys. They repaired a tranny and a rear-end and made a car strong enough to win the race.

Zacharies came home in second to give the Race of Champions Modified Series paddock a 1-2 finish. Jon McKennedy, Ryan Preece and Jimmy Blewett rounded out the top five, with Ron Silk, Chuck Hossfield, Matt Hirschman, Timmy Solomito and Tommy Catalano completing the top 10.

Rypkema’s surprise victory came on a night that saw many championship favorites struggle.

After finishing second in Race 1 of the World Series of Asphalt, Hirschman struggled with the balance of his machine in Tuesday’s feature. Preece again experience qualifying woes, and Justin Bonsignore pulled off-track early with issues for the second-straight night.

The lone moment of excitement in the night came in the race’s final corner, when Preece made contact with Race 1 winner JR Bertuccio while battling for fourth. The incident caused Bertuccio to spin his No. 2 around, relegating him to a 16th-place finish and giving him a severe blow in the championship standings.


  1. Tyler Rypkema
  2. Jimmy Zacharies
  3. Jon McKennedy
  4. Ryan Preece
  5. Jimmy Blewett
  6. Ron Silk
  7. Chuck Hossfield
  8. Matt Hirschman
  9. Timmy Solomito
  10. Tommy Catalano
  11. Ricky Moxley
  12. Amy Catalano
  13. Austin Pickens
  14. Matt Montoneri
  15. Jeremy Gerstner
  16. JR Bertuccio
  17. Calvin Carroll
  18. Al Ermmarino
  19. Joe DeGracia
  20. Shawn Balluzzo
  21. Justin Bosignore
  22. Tom John
  23. Paul Hortwig, Jr.
  24. Spencer Davis
  25. Matt Gallo
  26. DJ Wagner

Aaron Bearden is a contributing writer for Short Track Scene. Having grown up watching NASCAR and IndyCar, Bearden began following short track racing during his high school years before starting a blog about racing in college. A writer for Frontstretch and Motorsports Tribune, Bearden also covers NASCAR, IndyCar and other forms of open wheel racing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Modifieds