Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Whelen Modified Tour Stafford Spring Sizzler preview, entry list

Here’s everything you need to know about Round 4 of the NASCAR Modified Tour season …

NASCAR Home Tracks

After two weeks off, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour teams are back in action this weekend in Connecticut. The 48th annual NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 will take place on Sunday — but teams will practice and qualify on Saturday.

The Whelen Modified Tour helps begin another season of racing at the historic half-mile, as the five NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions also open their schedule. The visit is the first of three for the Whelen Modified Tour this season.


Doug Coby may lead the championship standings after the first three NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races, but the rest of the field isn’t far behind.

Over his 17-year past, Coby, who grew up racing at Stafford and won championships in the weekly series before moving to the Whelen Modified Tour, has taken that success and run with it. In 54 Whelen Modified Tour starts at Stafford, Coby has 11 victories and three of them in the NAPA Spring Sizzler — including top 10 runs in over 60 percent of his starts. He won six consecutive poles at Stafford from October 2015 through April ’17, and has started from the top spot in nine races.

NWMT: Complete Whelen Modified Tour coverage

Fresh off his first win of the season in his effort to repeat as champion, Justin Bonsignore is entering Stafford looking to turn his previous luck around. With a best finish of second in 34 previous starts, Bonsignore has yet to master the half-mile, but did win the pole there last September en route to clinching the series championship that day. With crew chief Ryan Stone, Bonsignore finished seventh, eighth and 12th in the three races there last year driving the No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet, and he has admitted it’s one of the few tracks where he might need a bit of improvement.

With Burt Myers, who currently sits fourth in the standings, moving to the weekly Whelen All-American Series action at Bowman Gray Stadium, veteran Jeff Rocco returns to action driving the No. 1 Dunleavy Truck and Trailer Repair Chevrolet for Eddie Harvey.

Joey Cipriano, a regular in Stafford’s SK Modified division, will make his Whelen Modified Tour debut on Sunday, while Chase Dowling, who cut his teeth racing in Stafford’s Modified ranks, will return to action driving for Jamie Tomaino. Dowling finished second in the Whelen Modified Tour point standings last year.

READ MORE: Ryan Preece to return to NWMT in June at Thompson


PLACE: Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, Conn.
DATE: Sunday, April 28
TIME: 3:30 p.m. (approx.)
STREAMING: FansChoice.TV, 3:30 p.m.
TRACK LAYOUT: Half-mile paved asphalt oval
2018 WINNER: Ryan Preece
2018 POLE: Chase Dowling
EVENT SCHEDULE: SATURDAY: Garage Opens: 8:15 a.m., First Practice: 11-11:40 a.m., Final Practice: 12:20-1 p.m., Group Qualifying: 2:30 p.m., Garage Closes: 4 p.m. SUNDAY: Garage Opens: 9:30 a.m., Driver Autograph Session: 11-11:50 a.m., NAPA Spring Sizzler 200: 3:30 p.m. (approx.)


The starting field for the NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 is limited to 33 starters, including provisional positions. The first 27 drivers will secure starting positions based on the group qualifying process. The remaining six positions will be awarded through the provisional process.

NASCAR group qualifying is in place for this event. Qualifying order will be determined by each vehicle’s fastest single lap from the official practice sessions. The number of qualifying groups will be determined by NASCAR. Each group qualifying session will be five (5) minutes in duration and the fastest single lap speed of each vehicle will determine the first 27 starting positions.

Adjustments or repairs may not be made on a vehicle after the vehicle enters the track to begin the qualifying session. Vehicles may not return to the track to make any further qualifying laps unless directed to do so by a NASCAR Official or in the event of a caution. Once a vehicle’s qualifying attempt is complete, the vehicle must proceed directly to the designated impound area once it enters pit road. In the event of a caution, all vehicles must exit the track.

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is eleven (11) tires per team. Four (4) tires must be used for qualifying and to begin the race. The tire change is four (4) tires, any position.

FEATURE: SK winner to make Tour debut this weekend


  • Melissa Fifield
  • Jeff Rocco
  • Doug Coby
  • Matt Swanson
  • Sam Rameau
  • Patrick Emerling
  • Blake Barney
  • Timmy Solomito
  • Ken Heagy
  • Joey Cipriano
  • Jimmy Blewett
  • Kyle Bonsignore
  • Calvin Carroll
  • Tyler Rypkema
  • Wade Cole
  • J.B. Fortin
  • Dave Sapienza
  • Timmy Catalano
  • Craig Lutz
  • Joey Mucciacciaro
  • Justin Bonsignore
  • Mark Bakaj
  • Tommy Catalano
  • Eric Goodale
  • Rob Summers
  • Chris Pasteryak
  • Gary Putnam
  • Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
  • Woody Pitkat
  • Ron Silk
  • Anthony Nocella
  • Chase Dowling

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour