Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

NASCAR Modified Tour Riverhead preview, entry list

There are just four races remaining in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season …

For the second time this season, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour teams will unload at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night.

The New York quarter-mile will play host to another crucial race in the championship points battle, as one of the final four races of the 16-race schedule.

Track regulars are coming closer and closer.

Justin Bonsignore might have three straight NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour wins at his home track, but the local favorites are itching to steal bragging rights. Bonsignore was running second in July, when a late caution closed him to the bumper of track favorite John Beatty Jr. In a two-lap dash, there was some classic short-track banging, and Bonsignore came out on top.

But Beatty will be looking for redemption on Saturday. He will bring a similar package to the New York oval, and will have plenty of other locals joining him in the field.

Current Whelen All-American Series Modified points leader Kyle Soper is entered in the No. 95 for Wayne Anderson, and he’s on a roll at the quarter-mile this season. Soper has won seven races, and leads the standings by 66 points heading for the final few weeks. Chris Young, John Fortin Sr. and Roger Turbush are also planning to compete.

In the Whelen Modified Tour championship battle, five-time series champion Doug Coby leads by 37 over Bonsignore. Coby was leading when contact sent him spinning in July, and he still is without a victory at Riverhead in 18 previous starts but has come close. He’s finished inside the top six in his last five starts at the track.

Ron Silk is third, 44 points back, well within striking distance if Coby stumbles. Much like Coby, Silk is winless in 15 career starts at Riverhead, but he finished fourth in July.

Saturday’s action will also include a slate of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing.


PLACE: Riverhead Raceway, Riverhead, New York
DATE: Saturday, September 7
TIME: 8 p.m. ET (approx.)
STREAMING: FansChoice.TV (Live Broadcast)
TRACK LAYOUT: 1/4-mile paved oval
2018 WINNER: Justin Bonsignore
2018 POLE: Doug Coby
EVENT SCHEDULE: Garage Opens 12:45 p.m.; Practice 3:15-4:30 p.m.; Qualifying 6 p.m.; Driver Autographs 7:15 p.m.; Miller Lite 200: 8 p.m.


The starting field for the Miller Lite 200 is 28 starters, including provisional positions. The first 22 drivers will secure starting positions through the qualifying process. The remaining six positions will be awarded through the provisional process.

Two consecutive qualifying laps will be used to determine the starting lineup. Faster lap determines qualifying position. Adjustments or repairs may not be made on the vehicle after the vehicle has taken the green flag at the start/finish line. NASCAR reserves the right to have more than one vehicle engage in qualifying runs at the same time. Vehicles will be impounded after qualifying. Vehicles must qualify on race set up. After qualifying vehicles will proceed immediately to the impound area. Only minor adjustments will be permitted following qualifying. Stagger must be checked without jacking up the vehicle.

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is eight (8) tires per team. Four (4) tires must be used for qualifying and to begin the race. The tire change rule is zero (0) tires, any position.


Melissa Fifield, Fifield Racing
Doug Coby, Mike Smerglio Racing
Matt Swanson, Boehler Racing
Sam Rameau, Rameau Racing
Patrick Emerling, Emerling Racing
Blake Barney, Barney Motorsports
Timmy Solomito, Flamingo Motorsports
Ken Heagy
Calvin Carroll, Carroll Motorsports
Wade Cole, Cole Motorsports,
J.B. Fortin, Fortin Racing
Dave Sapienza, Dave Sapienze Racing
Kyle Ellwood, Rodenbaugh Racing
Timmy Catalano, Catalano Motorsports
Craig Lutz, Goodale Racing
Chris Young
Justin Bonsignore, Ken Massa Motorsports
Tommy Catalano, Catalano Motorsports
Eric Goodale, Goodale Racing
Rob Summers, KLM Motorsports
Chris Pasteryak, Pasteryak Racing
Walter Sutcliffe, Jr., Last Minute Racing
John Fortin, Fortin Motorsports
Ron Silk, Kevin Stuart Motorsports
Mike Rutkoski, Buzz Chew Motorsports
Kyle Soper
Roger Turbush


  1. Doug Coby
  2. Justin Bonsignore -37
  3. Ron Silk -44
  4. Craig Lutz -83
  5. Eric Goodale -108
  6. Patrick Emerling -129
  7. Chris Pasteryak -132
  8. Timmy Solomito -137
  9. Matt Swanson -141
  10. Blake Barney -156

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour