Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Doug Coby charges to fourth Sizzler victory

Jim Dupont | NASCAR

Doug Coby was going for his fourth NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 victory Saturday. Craig Lutz was chasing his first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win.

In the end, it was the veteran Coby who made the winning move – diving under Lutz with just over 10 laps remaining – and then fending off the fierce challenge in the closing laps to return to Victory Lane in the iconic event that’s earned the moniker, “The Greatest Race in the History of Spring.”

It was Coby’s 26th career win on the tour and his 12th at Stafford. His first career win came in the 2006 Spring Sizzler, Stafford’s iconic early-season event. He also won the race in 2012 and 2016.

“This is the race everybody wants to win,” said Coby. “That was the hardest I’ve ever drove a race car, to hold off Craig. I just kept drive harder and driving harder.”

Following Lutz, Ron Silk, Max Zachem and Eric Goodale rounded out the top five.

“This is what you dream about,” Lutz said. “He’s obviously one of the best here. To be able to run with him for the last 10 laps was run. This was probably the most disappointing second-place I’ve had, because I feld like all day we had a really good car.”

It was the third career runner-up finish in 56 career starts for the Miller Place, New York, driver — including one in last year’s NAPA Fall Final at Stafford.

Justin Bonsignore came home sixth. Bonsignore was fastest in practice back on April 26, the weekend the event was originally slated. Rain postponed three times, finally pushing it from Friday night ot Saturday afternoon. Bonsignore was then fastest in final practice and won the Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award.

Patrick Emerling was seventh, followed by rookie Sam Rameau, Timmy Solomito and Blake Barney.

With Coby’s second win in four races in 2019, the five-time tour champion has opened a 17-point lead on second-place Patrick Emerling and 20 over Silk. Blewett and defending tour champion Bonsignore are fourth and fifth, respectively.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will be back on track in seven days with the Jersey Shore 150 at Wall Stadium Speedway on Saturday, May 18.

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Craig Lutz
  3. Ron Silk
  4. Max Zachem
  5. Eric Goodale
  6. Justin Bonsignore
  7. Patrick Emerling
  8. Sam Rameau
  9. Timmy Solomito
  10. Blake Barney
  11. Woody Pitkak
  12. JB Fortin Jr.
  13. Timmy Catalano
  14. Gary Putnam
  15. Jimmy Blewett
  16. Wade Cole
  17. Tommy Catalano
  18. Kyle Ellwood
  19. Calvin Carroll
  20. Mark Bakaj
  21. Kyle Bonsignore
  22. Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
  23. Tyler Rypkema
  24. Chase Dowling
  25. Joey Mucciacciaro
  26. Chris Pasteryak
  27. Anthony Nocella
  28. Jeff Rocco
  29. Ken Heagy
  30. Dave Sapienza
  31. Rob Summers
  32. Joey Cipriano III
  33. Melissa Fifield
  34. Matt Swanson

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour