Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Doug Coby breaks several streaks in return to Thompson Victory Lane

The five-time NASCAR Modified Tour champion is well on his way to a sixth

One of the most historic streaks in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour history was broken by one of the drivers who will go down as one of the best ever.

Doug Coby earned his fourth victory of the season in the Bud ‘King of Beers’ 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, breaking Justin Bonsignore’s streak of six consecutive wins at the Connecticut oval.

It was Coby’s 28th career Whelen Modified Tour victory, his sixth career at Thompson — and it increased the points lead with just five races remaining in the championship points schedule.

“We just go race to race,” Coby said. “We ran three different cars at New Hampshire, Stafford and Thompson, and I’m really proud of that for my team. He (Justin) would probably have anyone but me snap that streak. It’s really impressive what his team did. They had a great run.”

Coby dominated the early laps after earning his seventh Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award of the season in qualifying. When the caution flag flew on lap 84, Coby was leading the charge over Bonsignore, and both of them led the field down pit road. Coby elected to take his fresh tires on the pit stop, and exited the pits second, behind Bonsignore.

Coby restarted third, after Jon McKennedy used some strategy to earn the lead. He wouldn’t get back to the top spot until the final laps. After former series champion Bobby Santos III took the lead on lap 129, a caution with just 11 laps to go left Santos, Craig Lutz, Bonsignore and Coby at the front. All four of them had led laps, but only three of them would finish.

At the green, Santos stumbled with a broken shifter, Lutz spun his tires, and Coby hung a hard left to clear all of them, into the lead. He never looked back.

READ MORE: The restart that changed the season’s complexion

“When someone messes up in front of you, you hope you have enough room, you crank it to the left, and hope no one is going to spin you,” Coby said of the restart dash.

Bonsignore would come up one spot short of his seventh straight Thompson win, while Lutz settled for third. McKennedy and Timmy Solomito completed the top five.

“The restart got a little bit wild, and Doug was just in a better spot,” Bonsignore said. “You’re not going to win every game (race). We were prepared for this to happen. We lost to the best car this year.”

Jimmy Blewett was sixth, followed by Andrew Krause, Patrick Emerling, Matt Swanson and Woody Pitkat.

Coby leads by 47 in the point standings over Bonsignore and Silk, who are tied for second. The three former series champions have won all but one race this season.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track on Saturday, August 31, at Oswego Speedway in New York, as part of the track’s 63rd annual Classic Weekend.

The complete results from the Bud: King of Beers 150 can be found below.

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Justin Bonsignore
  3. Craig Lutz
  4. Jon McKennedy
  5. Timmy Solomito
  6. Jimmy Blewett
  7. Andrew Krause
  8. Patrick Emerling
  9. Matt Swanson
  10. Woody Pitkat
  11. Kyle Bonsignore
  12. Chris Pasteryak
  13. Eric Goodale
  14. Blake Barney
  15. Rob Summers
  16. Calvin Carroll
  17. Timmy Catalano
  18. Andrew Molleur
  19. Ron Silk
  20. Sam Rameau
  21. Ken Heagy
  22. Wade Cole
  23. Bobby Santos III
  24. Mike Rutkoski
  25. J.B. Fortin
  26. Tommy Catalano
  27. Joey Mucciacciaro
  28. Kevin Shea
  29. Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
  30. Melissa Fifield
  31. Kyle Ellwood

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour