Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Craig Lutz breaks into Victory Lane in NWMT Fall Final at Stafford

This was a big win for the driver highest in points without one …


For the second straight year, the NAPA Fall Final at Stafford Motor Speedway produced a first-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour winner.

Craig Lutz took the lead from Doug Coby on a restart with 33 laps to go, and drove away from Coby, and defending series champion Justin Bonsignore, to earn his first career checkered flag in his 66th series start.

Prior to Sunday, Lutz had finished inside the top five in four of his 12 Stafford starts, including the last three. He had also finished inside the top five in eight of the 14 races in 2019.

For the first time, the Miller Place, New York, driver was able to celebrate with a trophy.

“The first win is always special,” Lutz said. “Everyone kept on asking me when it was coming. To finally knock one off, it’s an amazing feeling.”

Lutz started ninth and rode inside the top 10 for the duration of the race but shined when it mattered most. Chris Pasteryak earned his first career Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole award in qualifying, and led the first six laps, before Coby took control.

Bonsignore took the lead from Coby just before halfway, and paced the field until a caution just after lap 100, when leaders pitted multiple times for tires. It would be the only caution of the day that Coby, Bonsignore and Lutz entered pit road.

Pasteryak would lead eight more laps after cycling back to the lead, but couldn’t hold the top spot, as Coby slid by, then a restart gave Lutz his opportunity. Lutz passed Coby and never looked back, minding a gap back to Bonsignore for the final 10 laps.

“I just didn’t look in my mirror,” Lutz said. “I have an awesome spotter, who has a lot of experience, and he kept telling me to stay smooth and hit my marks. That’s what I kept doing.”

Bonsignore would finish second, while Coby settled for third. Chuck Hossfeld, who missed practice and qualifying on Saturday, charged from the rear of the field to finish fourth. Matt Swanson was fifth.

Ron Silk finished sixth, followed by Bobby Santos III, Woody Pitkat, Chase Dowling and Patrick Emerling.

Coby leads Bonsignore by 19 points with one championship points race remaining in search of his sixth NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for the annual Sunoco World Series at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, the final race of the season, on Sunday, October 13.

The complete results from Stafford can be found below.

  1. Craig Lutz
  2. Justin Bonsignore
  3. Doug Coby
  4. Chuck Hossfeld
  5. Matt Swanson
  6. Ron Silk
  7. Bobby Santos III
  8. Woody Pitkat
  9. Chase Dowling
  10. Patrick Emerling
  11. Chris Pasteryak
  12. Matt Galko *
  13. Timmy Solomito
  14. Blake Barney
  15. Tommy Catalano
  16. Rob Summers
  17. J.B. Fortin *
  18. Andrew Molleur *
  19. Mark Bakaj *
  20. Ken Heagy
  21. Eric Goodale
  22. Joey Cipriano, III *
  23. Gary McDonald
  24. Wade Cole
  25. Dave Salzarulo
  26. Joey Mucciacciaro *
  27. Anthony Nocella
  28. Calvin Carroll
  29. Kyle Bonsignore
  30. Timmy Catalano *
  31. Melissa Fifield
  32. Sam Rameau *
  33. Tyler Rypkema *
  34. Kyle Ellwood

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour