Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Late Model Stock Car Heavyweights Set to Battle in Icebreaker 200

Some of Late Model Stock Car racing’s biggest names, including the three heavyweights who staged an epic duel for the win in the UNOH Battle at the Beach last November, will be doing battle in the first race of the 2016 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car season.

Reigning UNOH Battle at the Beach winner Myatt Snider, defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion Lee Pulliam and reigning Valley Star Credit Union 300 winner Tommy Lemons, Jr. all staged a classic duel in last November’s UNOH Battle at the Beach.  It was Snider who took the victory and Snider enters the race with confidence.

“We’re headed back to Myrtle Beach with pretty much the exact same stuff that we won with last November,” Snider said in a press release sent out by the team.  “We’re taking the same No. 2 NASCAR America Chevy and I’m blessed to have all my incredible team members back with me again this year.  Jeff Caudill continues to run our team and does a tremendous job as my crew chief.  All of our support personnel remain intact and Paul Griffin will still be doing his fantastic job up in the spotters’ stand for me.”

Tommy Lemons, Jr. and Lee Pulliam both plan to stand in the way of Snider.  The battle between the three drivers last November didn’t end with Snider’s victory.  The three performed an encore presentation the following weekend at Southern National Motorsports Park, with four-time Southern National track champion Deac McCaskill joining the race.  That race was won by Pulliam in what was one of the most memorable victories in his racing career.

Pulliam had also won last summer’s Hampton Heat 200 while Tommy Lemons, Jr. scored victories in the Valley Star Credit Union 300 at Martinsville Speedway and in the Rusty Harpe Memorial at Caraway Speedway.

Sam Yarbrough dominated at Myrtle Beach Speedway last season, scoring 13 wins en route to the track championship along with a victory in the Championship Auto Racing Series (CARS) Late Model Stock Tour race at Myrtle Beach last September.  Yarbrough will compete in the Icebreaker 200 along with teammate Chad McCumbee.

Dylan Hall is no stranger to victory lane at Myrtle Beach Speedway.  He has won the Southeast Limited Late Model Series race at Myrtle Beach Speedway two years in a row.  Last year’s victory came in a crash marred race which saw 23 cautions in the 100 lap feature.

Other drivers who could make noise on Saturday include Anthony Alfredo, who was impressive in the Southeast Limited Late Model Series last season and Langley Speedway standout Brenden Queen.

Not yet registered for the event but likely to compete are Bradley McCaskill, who won a CARS Tour race at Concord last summer, and popular Myrtle Beach Speedway favorite Justin Milliken.

The Icebreaker 200 will be held on Saturday afternoon at Myrtle Beach Speedway and is the first Late Model Stock Car feature event of 2016.

Icebreaker 200 Entry List

Lee Pulliam
Myatt Snider
Jeremy Burns
Will Burns
Luke Williams
Chase Purdy
Tommy Lemons, Jr.
Hayden Humphrey
Anthony Alfredo
Dr. Jerry Miracle
Justin Johnson
Bryant Barnhill
Dylan Hall
Melvin Langley
Chad McCumbee
Sam Yarbrough
Deac McCaskill
Brenden Queen

Marquis comes from St. Charles, Maryland and has a widespread background in journalism, having covered politics in Washington and Maryland as well as nearly every form of auto racing, including NASCAR, IndyCar, AMA Motocross and IHRA Drag Racing. Now living near Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Marquis covers Late Model Stock Cars and Super Late Models in the Carolinas and Virginia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Late Model Stock Cars