Connect with us


Ronnie Williams wins SK Modified Memorial Day weekend feature at Stafford

Paul Lambert/STS

The good times keep on rolling for Ronnie Williams.

Williams, who got his first SK Modified win at Thompson last Sunday, got his Memorial Day weekend started off the right way, winning the 40-lap SK Modified feature on Dunleavy’s Modifiedz Night at Stafford.

Andrew Molleur led the opening seven laps, at which point Williams took the lead. It was a lead he would not surrender the rest of the way.

“We just had a strong car,” Williams said. “Got up to the front pretty early… I think we gapped [the field] pretty well, so happy there was no cautions.”

Second was Joseph Cipriano, followed by Nick Salva, Eric Berndt, and Michael Gervais.

Rounding out the top-10 were Keith Rocco, Glen Reen, Todd Owen, Stephen Kopcik, and Mike Christopher Jr.

The race was relatively calm when compared to other SK Modified features at Stafford this season. The only caution flag all race came right after Williams passed Molleur, when Ed Spiers spun in turn one.

“I was beyond shocked there was no cautions, because it always seems to happen when I’m in the lead,” Williams said.

The run of success Williams has had certainly isn’t lost on him.

“To get this rolling and get the win at Thompson, to get the win here, and do it in dominance, it’s a good feeling,” he said. “Our peak… is end-of-June, all July, and August… We’re getting to that peak a little bit early. We’ve just gotta keep up with the track.”

Williams will attempt to pull off the modified sweep, as he is competing in the Open Modified 80 later tonight.

The full results can be found below.

  1. Ronnie Williams
  2. Joseph Cipriano III
  3. Nick Salva
  4. Eric Berndt
  5. Michael Gervais Jr.
  6. Keith Rocco
  7. Glen Reen
  8. Todd Owen
  9. Stephen Kopcik
  10. Mike Christopher Jr.
  11. Cory DiMatteo
  12. Marcello Rufrano
  13. David Arute
  14. Daniel Wesson
  15. Andrew Molleur
  16. Tony Membrino Jr.
  17. David Burnham
  18. Troy Talman
  19. Michael Rutkoski
  20. Jeff Malave
  21. Tyler Hines
  22. Tyler Leary
  23. Matt Vassar
  24. Thomas Bolles
  25. Ed Spiers
  26. John Catania
  27. Matt Galko

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2019. Paul has also been published in Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds