Connect with us

CARS Tours officials promised the ‘most badass entry list’ in the history of the Late Model Stock Car division and delivered just four days before the season-opening Do the Dew 150 at Tri-County Motor Speedway in Granite Falls, North Carolina.

The entry list contains the defending CARS Tour champion, a previous CARS Tour champion, the reigning NASCAR Whelen All-American Series champion, a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series veteran and a two-time Martinsville 300 winner.

All told, there are 36 drivers entered for the race and only 28 will take the green flag.

The most notable additions are four-time NASCAR national champion Lee Pulliam, Truck Series veteran Timothy Peters and former CARS Tour champions Deac McCaskill and Josh Berry. Also included, for the first time ever, are the Touring 12 — a series of drivers that were selected to be face of the 12-race division.

In addition to Berry, that list includes Sam Mayer, Layne Riggs, Charlie Watson, Brandon Pierce, Cody Haskins, Craig Moore, Ty Gibbs, Ronald Hill, Bradley McCaskill, Justin Johnson and Grayson Cullather.

At Tri-County, Berry will begin his title defense, and hopes to become the first driver in the history of the CARS Response Energy Tour to win two championships. The JR Motorsports driver from Mooresville, North Carolina has amassed twelve series wins in 29 starts while winning $84,927 in prize money along the way.

Both those numbers are Late Model Stock division records.

Despite everything he’s done in the past, Berry is already focused on the future and his chances of taking home the largest payday in Late Model Stock division history Saturday at Tri County

“Obviously that’s going to be our goal, to repeat as champion, but it’s not going to be easy,” Berry said. “I think a lot of people are going to be gunning for us this year. There’s a lot of new competitors and lots of new tracks this year so we’ll have our work cut out for us. We won here at Tri-County last year, in one of the best races I’ve been a part of, so I’m excited about starting the season off here at Tri County.”

Pulliam will make his long-anticipated CARS debut on Saturday night, lured by the appeal of racing for $10,000 and against the best drivers in the Carolinas and Virginias.

“I’ve won everything I can really win right now in my career when it comes to NASCAR,” Pulliam said. “National championships and state titles but this year I wanted to do something different. I’m ready for a new challenge and with me just racing a handful of times this year to spend more time with my family and my customers, the CARS Tour is a good fit for me right now.

“Our goal this weekend is to win at Tri-County. From there we are just going to take it race by race, and have some fun. So far the CARS Tour has made it fun to be at the track, and has us excited for the weekend ahead.”

The fastest 22 drivers will make the field, there will be four taken from a last chance race and two promoters choice to make up the 28-car field.


Track/Location: Tri County Motor Speedway-Hudson, NC
Track Size: .400-mile
Event Name: Do The Dew 150
Laps/Distance: 150L/60 miles
Event Schedule: 12:30PM-1:10PM Practice, 2:40PM Qualifying, 3:15PM Green: LMSC-LLM

For those who can’t make it, the Do the Dew 150 will be streamed on a subscription basis by CARSTour.TV. The broadcast details can be viewed here.

The complete entry list can be viewed below.

  • #08 Deac McCaskill
  • #07 Bradley McCaskill
  • #1M Craig Moore
  • #2 Cody Haskins
  • #2P Brandon Pierce
  • #2D Christopher Denny
  • #5 Lee Pullium
  • #5C Dexter Canipe Jr.
  • #9 Sam Mayer
  • #9W Charlie Watson
  • #12 Timothy Peters
  • #12G Andrew Garcia
  • #12J Joe Graff Jr.
  • #12M Austin McDaniel
  • #14 Ryan Repko
  • #15 Sheflon Clay
  • #16 Colby Howard
  • #16M Chad McCumbee
  • #18 Ty Gibbs
  • #22 Grayson Cullather
  • #22M Bobby McCarty
  • #27 Tommy Lemons Jr.
  • #28 Chris Hudspeth
  • #31 Thomas Beane
  • #32 Nik Williams
  • #35 Carson Kvapil
  • #44 Justin Johnson
  • #57 Justin Carroll
  • #74 Ronald Hill
  • #75 Landon Huffman
  • #77 Trevor Ward
  • #77S Blake Stallings
  • #83 Matt Bowling
  • #88 Josh Berry
  • #95 Jacob Heafner
  • #99 Layne Riggs

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in CARS Late Model Stock Tour