Connect with us

Kyle Busch was in a league of his own on Saturday during the Winter Showdown at Kern County Raceway.

Not even a caution with five laps to go could offset a dominant performance by the 2015 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion, whom has collected over $50,000 during the off-season by winning the two most prestigious Super Late Model events in country in the Showdown and December’s Snowball Derby.

“This means the world to me,” Busch said on the MAVTV pay-per-view broadcast. “This is something I’m passionate about. I love short track racing. I love the Super Late Model ranks. We’ve won everywhere, but I don’t think I’ve won in California in one of these cars, which is cool to do here, because of the competition.

“The competition here, there’s no slouches on the Southwest Tour.”

After finishing third in the 300 lapper last year, Busch led the final 238 laps and it wasn’t even close.

The winning pass came on lap 62 when Busch overtook defending winner Derek Thorn in Turn 4 of the Southern California half-mile.

Local driver Buddy Shepherd won the pole, but just didn’t have enough to reel in Busch over the final laps, and didn’t have the best restart when it mattered the most with five laps remaining. He finished 1.7 seconds behind Busch.

He finished the race in a side-by-side duel with teammate and NASCAR star Daniel Hemric.

“To finish second to one of the best in the world makes you feel pretty good,” Shepherd said. “We’ll take what we learned and come back stronger next year.”

Thorn led the first 62 laps before a blistered right front tire slowed him for the remainder of the event.

There were six caution flags, three for crashes and three for controlled stops similar to the Snowball Derby.

The complete results of the Kern County Winter Showdown can be found below.

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Buddy Shepherd
  3. Daniel Hemric
  4. Ty Majeski
  5. Noah Gragson
  6. Derek Kraus
  7. Chris Davidson
  8. Dominic Ursetta
  9. Derek Thorn
  10. Craig Raudman
  11. Jace Hansen
  12. Eric Holmes
  13. John Moore
  14. Austin Herzog
  15. Bobby Hodges
  16. Mason Mingus
  17. Tyler Tanner
  18. Jack Wood
  19. Eric Schmidt
  20. M.K. Kanke
  21. Preston Peltier
  22. Jeremy Doss
  23. Tyler Ankrum
  24. Jeff Bischofberger
  25. Logan Bearden
  26. Tracy Bolin
  27. David Mayhew
  28. Blaine Rocha
  29. Chris Eggleston
  30. Cole Williams
  31. Bob Lyon
  32. Carlos Vieira
  33. Luke Hall
  34. Dan Holtz
  35. Eddy McKean
  36. Scott Sanchez

Note: Short Track Scene was not at this event but watched online via the Lucas Oil Racing TV Pay-Per-View broadcast.

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Super Late Models