Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ty Majeski Closes Out World Series Title with a Win

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. — Three wins and two seconds.

It wasn’t exactly a perfect Speedweeks but it was close enough as Ty Majeski went to Victory Lane on Saturday night to close out the World Series of Asphalt Super Late Model championship at New Smyrna Speedway.

In five starts, Majeski finished no worse than second and needed just a top-15 to clinch the championship on Saturday. But winning the Super Late Model 100-lapper the night before the Daytona 500 is an equal accomplishment, and Majeski doubled-down by leading 99 laps and cruising to both accomplishments.

“The car was flawless,” Majeski said. “Some of the circumstances that took place (after finishing second on Thursday) kind of lit a fire under us. We came out firing today.”

All told, Majeski defeated Harrison Burton by 24 points and third-place Steve Wallace by 25. Majeski claimed three victories, Burton two and Wallace one, on opening night.  Majeski says he’s going to take a lot of pride in winning the championship against such a stellar field.

“It’s really special,” said Majeski. “I felt like we were in really good position to win it last year and, with two races to go, broke a left rear trailing arm bracket, hit the wall in Turn 3, and ended our week early. It feels pretty good to come back down here and defend the way we ran last year, and even improve on it.”

Majeski set the fastest average speed in time trials and drew a two for the invert. He took the lead from Derek Thorn on the second lap and never relinquished the position. In fact, he once enjoyed a near eight-second lead over Burton, who decided to start saving his tires in case the caution would drop before the end of the race.

Unfortunately, Burton began experiencing visibility issues due to a driver dropping oil on the track and all over his windshield. By time, Martin Latulippe spun in the oil on Lap 88, Burton needed a tear-off ripped from his windshield and New Smyrna Speedway officials would not grant him his second place position back.

Burton was asking speedway officials for an oil caution since Lap 70 but never got one. He ended up finishing sixth, unable to carve his way back through the field after falling outside of the top-10 after pitting.

Despite the misfortune, Burton wasn’t too terribly upset, knowing that Majeski seemed to have the field covered.

“It’s really disappointing because the guys worked hard and put a fast car underneath me,” Burton said. “We had a chance to win that one at the end and we had to rip the tear-off because I couldn’t see. That was my decision. I made it. I felt it was best to not tear up a race car.

“We still got a sixth place out of it, which isn’t too terrible.”

As for race control, Burton was disappointed but understanding.

“Yeah, I know it’s a tough job,” Burton conceded. “There’s a lot going on on the race track so I want to account for how tough that job is, but it’s also their job (to recognize that) in the first place. So there’s some frustration but it’s a tough job and someone has to do it. I’m not mad.”

The complete results from the Bruce Gowland Memorial 100 can be viewed below.

1. Ty Majeski
2. Brad May
3. Stephen Nasse
4. Christian Eckes
5. Riley Herbst
6. Harrison Burton
7. Tyler Ankrum
8. Derek Scott Jr.
9. Steve Wallace
10. David Rogers
11. Garrett Hall
12. Derek Kraus
13. Natalie Decker
14. Garrett Jones
15. Dalton Armstrong
16. Dave Garbo Jr
17. Daniel Keene Jr
18. Vinnie Miller
19. Tanner Gray
20. Josh Collins
21. Michael Atwell
22. DJ Hoelzle
23. Martin Latulippe
24. Quinn Houff
25. Frederick Moore
26. Gus Dean
27. Derek Thorn
28. Zane Smith
29. Chad Finley

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models