Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ty Majeski captures third Rattler 250 victory at South Alabama

Matt Weaver | STS

Ty Majeski channeled one of the all-time southern short track greats on Sunday in winning the Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway.

In winning the race for the third time, he also matched one of his numerous accomplishments.

Majeski tied the legendary Ronnie Sanders on the all-time wins list by pulling away from Bubba Pollard on a restart with 55 to go and winning by 1.8 seconds over defending winner Giovanni Bromante.

Majeski first took the lead on Lap 68 and was largely left unchallenged the rest of the afternoon, only finding himself in the middle of the pack due to pit strategy, before quickly working his way back to the front.

It was the kind of performance Sanders himself delivered at short tracks across the Gulf Coast, including a victory in the 1977 Snowball Derby.

The only thing that really hampered the 25-year-old over the weekend was an early qualifying run in which he turned laps on a track that still featured Texas modified rubber, and he qualified eighth regardless.

“Every time we come here, it always seems like a late decision, so our best qualifying effort here was like seventh,” Majeski said. “We fired off really well and found a really good spot to run and was able to pick a few of them off when guys started to fall off. That gave me an idea of what everyone had.

“I got behind Bubba and was really content to ride there. I wanted to learn where we were better than him and where he was better than us — what we needed to do to our race car.

“The track actually came to us. We didn’t make a single adjustment all day. We had it right in practice and it’s a testament to the whole team.”

The Majeski and Toby Nuttleman pairing continues to be something of a ‘dream team’ in national short track racing with the driver and crew chief having immediately working well together. The 2020 Rattler was their 101st win together.

Majeski previously won the Rattler in 2016 and 2017.

“Listen, we’ve been together something like eight years and we go snowmobile riding together,” Majeski said. “We talk all the time. We talk at the track and we’re always talking about my NASCAR stuff too. It’s much more than a crew chief relationship, that’s for sure.

“We are always trying to come up with ideas to make our race cars better and we need to keep doing this.”

Majeski was quick to credit the level of competition he defeated on Sunday.

“Bubba Pollard is good. Anthony Campi Racing is good. Nasse. Kyle Busch Motorsports,” Majeski said. “These guys are the best in the country. It challenges us to be better and hopefully we can stay ahead of the curve.”

Nuttleman said their No. 91 was “awesome all day.”

“We have two cars between us, and it doesn’t matter, because we have a lot of confidence in all of them. This comes down to the communication between Ty and I. He knows exactly what he needs out of the car and we strive to get it.”

Majeski led 133 of the race’s 250 laps.

Bromante passed Pollard in the closing laps to finish second, just one spot short of a back-to-back win in the 250.

“Anthony [Campi] gave me a great car,” Bromante said. “We made some solid adjustments.  We just needed a little more time to get up there with Ty.  I’m very thankful for a second-place finish, and I’m glad the car is in one piece.”

Pollard had struggled over the past four years in the Rattler 250 and took solace in the renewed pace he had shown in this year’s edition.

“We’re happy with third, I’ll say that one time,” Pollard said. “As far off as we’ve been, we made our program a lot better and it showed today.  The 91’s good.  They’re fast.  When you race with the caliber of guys here, it only takes a little bit to be off.  We’ll come back and try again.”

The complete results from the 2020 Rattler 250 can be found below.

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Giovanni Bromante
  3. Bubba Pollard
  4. Stephen Nasse
  5. Sammy Smith
  6. Jeremy Pate
  7. Daniel Dye
  8. Hudson Halder
  9. Jeff Fultz
  10. Jackson Boone
  11. Dawson Fletcher
  12. Hunter Robbins
  13. Josh Brock
  14. Jake Garcia
  15. Nick Joanides
  16. Connor Okrzesik
  17. Logan Bearden
  18. Steve Dorer
  19. Kyle McCallum
  20. Kyle Bryant
  21. Jett Noland
  22. Anthony Sergi
  23. Corey Heim
  24. Kyle Plott
  25. Mason Keller

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models