Connect with us

NASHVILLE, TN :: Current NASCAR K&N Pro Series West championship leader Todd Gilliland posted the fastest time in Day One of practice on Friday for the All-American 400 at Fairgrounds Speedway in Nashville, Tennessee.

His best lap was turned in the first of two completed sessions before rain washed away a third and was completed in 18.714 seconds around the 5/8th-mile speedway in the Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 51 entry. Gilliland was obviously pleased.

“We were battling tight most of the day but overall the car has good speed,” Gilliland told Short Track Scene on Friday night. “I’m looking forward to qualifying.”

Jeff Choquette posted the fastest time in final practice and second fastest overall at 18.964 but was followed closely by Gilliland in that session as the 16-year-old posted a 19 flat to reassert his status as the favorite for Sunday’s race.

A total of 34 Super Late Models turned laps on Friday but more are expected on Saturday for final practice and qualifying. If necessary, the Super Late Models will have a last chance race to fill the field — but we’ll cross that bridge as it becomes notable.

Practice times for the 32nd All-American 400 can be viewed below.

  1. Todd Gilliland     18.714
  2. Jeff Choquette    18.964
  3. Donnie Wilson    19.039
  4. Willie Allen    19.069
  5. Derek Thorn    19.072
  6. Casey Roderick     19.093
  7. Blaine Rocha    19.126
  8. Dalton Sargeant    19.126
  9. Christian Eckes    19.151
  10. Johnny Van Doorn    19.164
  11. Ty Majeski    19.208
  12. Justin Ashburn    19.213
  13. Dennis   Shoenfeld    19.223
  14. Stephen Nasse    19.235
  15. Steven Wallace    19.256
  16. Bret Holmes    19.262
  17. Raphael Lessard    19.276
  18. Quinn Houff    19.276
  19. Chandler Smith    19.305
  20. Cole Timm    19.319
  21. Bubba Pollard    19.345
  22. Derek Kraus    19.352
  23. Christian McGhee    19.356
  24. Tyler Ankrum    19.378
  25. Joseph Meyer    19.415
  26. Dennis Prunty    19.448
  27. Preston Peltier    19.540
  28. Bobby Kendall    19.544
  29. Augie Grill    19.577
  30. Korbin Forrister     19.610
  31. John DeAngelis    19.659
  32. Cole Rouse    19.888
  33. Allen Karnes    20.012
  34. Johnny Brazier    20.106

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models